Blog Post #109

sunday

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by The Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on my blog and showcase books and things I have received for the week ahead.

Currently Reading

reason

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

saturdaysituation

Saturday Situation is put on by Pure Imagination. It is were we review our latest reads. Be sure to check out theirs as well.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-36-47-pm

The two books I read this week were huge disappointments! Their summaries sounded so intriguing but they both ended up being dull and pointless.

misfortune

Summary

A Brooklyn Heights wife and mother who has embezzled a small fortune from her children’s private school and makes a run for it, leaving behind her trust fund poet husband, his maybe-secret lover, her two daughters, and a school board who will do anything to find her.

My Review

I expected this book to be action-packed, thoughtful, funny, anything really than what it was. It was just plain boring and unimaginative.  I pretty much hated all the characters and the story unfortunately, didn’t go anywhere.

 

dyinggame

Summary

A masterly locked-room mystery set in a near-future Orwellian state, in which seven people are brought to a remote island to compete in a 48-hour test for a top-secret intelligence position, and one woman must stage her own death.

My Review

I so wanted this to be a Hunger Games meets Lord of the Flies type of book.  Instead it was a story of a bunch of people that we know nothing about and two main characters, Henry and Anna, who we find out too much about.  There was way too much back story on them and it didn’t enhance the plot at all.  When the 48-hour test started, it was over so fast that I felt really let down.  This book could have been so much more.  The mystery was hardly a mystery at all and the ending was confusing and left me very unsatisfied.

 

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-12-pm

stacking

Stacking the Shelves is put on by Tynga at Tynga’s Reviews. Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves. Here are the books I have added to my TBR list this week.

beasts

Summary

In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts – lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt. When Taj is called to eat a sin of a royal, he’s suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves – and his own life.

 

reincarnation

Summary

A magically inspiring tale of a man who is reincarnated through many lifetimes so that he can be with his one true love: Death herself.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

bookbloggerhop

The Book Blogger Hop is put on by The Coffee Addicted Writer . There is a weekly prompt featuring a book related question.

 This week’s question is submitted by Maria @ A Night’s Dream of Books

This weeks prompt is…

 Have you ever read a book or books you would consider ‘toxic’ because of the effect it(they) had on you? If so, which one(s)?

rabbits

My Answer…

Fortunately, I haven’t read any books that have been toxic to me.  However, there have been some books toxic to my bank account!

THE HARRY POTTER BOOKS!

I have spent hundreds of dollars because of the Harry Potter books. I have bought the hard cover AND soft cover of these books.

hpscholastic

And then they came out with new covers.

hpscholastic2

Don’t forget the Bloomsbury editions!

hpbloomsbury.jpg

Or the Illustrated versions!

illustrated

Or spin off books.

cursedchild

Then there was Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them!

I had to have all the different covers of course!

Don’t forget all the movies, DVDs, merchandise, theme parks (both Florida and California), and Warner Brothers Studio tour in England.

harry

 

20 thoughts on “Blog Post #109

  1. La La in the Library says:

    Toxic to your bank account Ha ha! That is why I am keeping myself to just the illustrated editions and maybe someday the boxed Ravenclaw set. Did you see the new Fantastic Beasts illustrated? I am making Baz buy that for me for my missed Mother’s Day gift; all I got was dinner, oh wait he cleaned the bathroom, too, but still. There are two new Hogwarts a History books coming out, too. One for adults and one for kids. More toxic shock! XD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Katie says:

    AH! I’m jealous of your Harry Potter book collection…I only have the original US releases (in hardcover and paperback) and the castle spine set still in it’s protective plastic wrap, and book 7 from the Bloomsbury cover set (I need the first 6).

    And it looks like you got a great haul of books this week. I’m particularly intrigued by Beasts Made of Night. It’s got such a pretty cover!

    Here’s my STS: http://justanothergirlandherbooks.blogspot.de/2017/07/stacking-shelves-22-july-2017.html

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Greg Hill says:

    Sorry the books were disappointing! The dying Game I thought had a fun premise, bummer about that one.

    wow you’ve got quite the HP collection. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jorie says:

    Hallo, Hallo! 🙂

    The Ravenclaw girl that I am was *so in love!* with this beautiful showcase about the things we collect when we’re wicked enthused about Harry Potter! I have a special collection of memorabilia myself and I haven’t been able to travel as you have to the ‘classic’ places to be Hogwarty in bliss – but! I do agree on the different books – I have nearly a full set of the UK editions; gave my Mum the special ‘chest’ editions and have the original US editions – I need to round out the UK versions, pick up the ‘extra’ installments, plus the screenplay + play copies – as I just saw Fantastic Beasts recently (courtesy of my library!) and I am SERIOUSLY in love with the film!

    My Mum and I were watching this together, as we saw all the Potter films together as they debuted including some midnight shows! (so awesome!) And, wells technically two midnight book releases! (laughs) We were mesmorised by how they brought back the ‘world’ of Potter but in a different era and timescape – it was so earnestly exciting!!

    This is why I’ve been happily talking about “The Crowns of Croswald” on my blog – two #WaitingOnWednesday (one is the unboxing / one the review) and two #TheSundayPost as well – it’s ‘similar to Potter’ but it’s so authentic to it’s own world-building and style, I felt it was unfair to say it was ‘exactly like Harry’s world’. I was thinking if your game to take-on a new Fantasy realm, you might want to hop over to my blog and find out about Croswald – as they don’t use wands in Croswald — they use quills and words are everything!

    Thanks for giving me such a heart of joy reading this post and finding other Potterheads out there who are still ‘in the magic’ and ‘excitement’ of Potter! Ooh one thing in closing – I definitely want to get the illustrated versions! Those are SERIOUSLY AWESOMESAUCE!!!

    Like

Leave a comment