Tell Me Tuesday

1aa25-photostudio_1470712744947

Tell Me Tuesday is a weekly blog feature put on by La La in the Library. It is where we share what we have been , will be, and currently reading and why. So check out our latest reads and share yours.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

PUPDATE

I am going to start with the pupdate this week.  My senior foster dog, Trixie, is continuing to thrive and adapt in our home.  She is becoming more and more confident. When she arrived 3 weeks ago, we had to carry her up and down the stairs because she didn’t know how to use them.  Trixie must have lived in a ranch home because she was terrified when we would put her on the stairs. Now she runs up and down them with no problem.

trixie2

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-40-pm-e1500297405181.png

What I Read Last

faithful

My Review

This is a great coming of age story about a young lady, Shelby, who survives a car crash, but her best friend, Helene, is in a coma. Shelby is wracked with guilt and doesn’t believe she should carry on with her life while Helene can’t so she hides in her parents basement after having a mental breakdown and spending a short amount of time in a psych ward. One of the only people she can talk to is Ben, the guy from high school that supplies her with pot.

I think the author did a great job of keeping the story interesting. There was just enough mystery to keep me engaged. Who is sending Shelby cryptic post cards encouraging her? Will Helene recover? Will Shelby end up with Ben or never figure out how to forgive herself and feel worthy of love?

I loved the parts where Shelby rescues dogs. I believe the author was using this as a parallel to Shelby’s life and circumstances. The dogs she saves are either abandoned or mistreated. Shelby gives them a home and love and the dogs learn to trust again which is what Shelby must learn to do if she is to survive and forgive herself.

hP5

This is my favorite book of the series and I was sad as always when I finished it.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-12-pm

What I am Currently Reading

dyinggame

A masterly locked-room mystery set in a near-future Orwellian state, in which seven people are brought to a remote island to compete in a 48-hour test for a top-secret intelligence position, and one woman must stage her own death.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-21-pm.png

What I am Reading Next

misfortune

A wildly entertaining debut about a Brooklyn Heights wife and mother who has embezzled a small fortune from her children’s private school and makes a run for it, leaving behind her trust fund poet husband, his maybe-secret lover, her two daughters, and a school board who will do anything to find her.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-40-pm

What are you reading this week? Tell me.

5 thoughts on “Tell Me Tuesday

  1. La La in the Library says:

    Trixie is so sweet looking. ❤

    As I said before, I am happy you enjoyed Faithful. I think you would like the Practical Magic prequel I am reading if her's too. Have you seen the Practical Magic movie?

    The Misfortune Of Marion Palm sounds weirdly interesting. Ha ha. Thanks for TMTing!

    Like

  2. Greg Hill says:

    Glad to hear that Trixie is dong well! and that’s phenomenal progress w/ the stairs! She may miss the stairs when she goes home lol.

    The Dying Game sounds pretty awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Michelle @ In Libris Veritas says:

    I’m glad Trixie is doing well! It’s so odd to think that stairs can be scary to a dog, I didn’t think about it until I got my dog years ago. She was terrified of them too and it took a lot of work, and now it’s a favorite napping place for her. It’s so great to see dogs break out of their shells a bit over time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment