Book Blogger Hop

This post is linked to The Sunday PostStacking the Shelves, and Saturday Situation. Be sure to check out their blogs and see what they have been reading.

bookbloggerhop

My blogger buddy, La La in the Library, did a post this week called Book Blogger Hop which is put on by Billy at Ramblings From A Coffee Addicted Writer. There is a weekly prompt featuring a book related question and this week’s question looked like a fun topic to do a blog post on. This was last week’s question. The question was submitted by Silver’s Reviews.  The question was…

 Do you have only books on your bookshelves, or do you have other bookish items, too?

rabbits.gif

I do NOT have only books on my bookshelves.  I have both bookish items and non bookish items on my shelves.

IMG_0847

I have five black shelves total.  My hubby bought three for me, put them together and said,”There! Those should hold all of your books!” HA HA HA! That didn’t last long.  There was room for two more shelves so I of course ordered two more.

IMG_0861.JPG

One shelf is of course all of my Harry Potter books and other books related to Harry Potter.  I also have a couple Funko Pops.  One of Newt Scamander and his Niffler and one of Harry in his Quidditch robes.  There are also some treasures I bought at the HP theme parks. There are chocolate frog boxes, a Bertie’s Every Flavor bean box, a pumpkin juice bottle, a Butterbeer mug, a ticket and photo from Platform 9 3/4 in London, and four wands (those are bit hard to see).

IMG_0865.JPG

I am also a huge Disney fan and my family and I have gone to both Disney World and Disneyland several times.  I found this old plate at a garage sale and this very old Golden book at a thrift shop.  I love it because it talks about all the rides at Disneyland.  Some of them are still there and some are not. The Belle and Beast salt and pepper shakers were given to me by my friend, Holly.  We are huge Beauty and the Beast fans.

IMG_0867.JPG

I have a couple different sets of tea pots on my shelves.  These two are my husband’s great-great grandmothers’.

IMG_0869

This child’s tea set was my grandmother’s. I put it next to my Judy Blume books because I loved those as a child.

IMG_0868

I just love this old wiener dog ceramic dish and Golden book I got at a thrift shop.

IMG_0866

I meant for this owl print to go on my Harry Potter shelf but I just don’t have room so he sits on a shelf nearby.  Isn’t he adorable? I bought him at a vintage shop.

IMG_0864

I have lots of stuff on top of my shelves too. I love globes and maps. The little jar of sand by the globe is sand I got from Omaha Beach in Normandy, France. The old camera was my father-in-law’s.

IMG_0863 (1)

The sailboat was made by my husband as a kid. It is hard to see but there is a jar of shells by the sailboat.  These are shell the kids have collected on various trips to the ocean.  There is also a map of Thailand.  I have been there three times.  The mini tea set, wicker ball, and elephant are from Thailand as well.

 

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

What about you? Do you have other things on your bookshelves?  Please comment and let me know!

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-37-14-pm

Missed my Tell Me Tuesday post? Check it out below.

1aa25-photostudio_1470712744947

Tell Me Tuesday

12 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop

  1. Rissi says:

    Fun post! Always cool to chat about bookshelves, and see how others organize them. I had two black shelves, and then needed a third, which I bought, but well, that didn’t pan out since one of my old bookshelves fell apart when I moved it. *sigh* I finally got a smaller third shelf, and after reorganizing and unhauling, I still have room on them, which is great! 🙂

    I used to put other things on my shelf, but they basically house my books now, and I’m totally fine with that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. La La in the Library says:

    Black bookshelves *heart eyes* you have very good taste! I love all of the Harry Potter things, of course! I love that you have your grandmother’s child’s tea set! I would love to do a wall of bookshelves. Maybe I can if I change the living room into a studio. I love the old bookss you have with each theme, too. You should do shelf by shelf book tours like Annemieke does from time to time. Thanks for sharing your shelves. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Angela says:

    I’m jealous of all the shelves you have! I pretty much have only books on mine, and they are stuffed, but my husband does have some of his non-book things on them too. We definitely need more room. I love all your Disney stuff – I’m a huge Disney fan, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Greg Hill says:

    Nice pics! I like to have non bookish things on my shelves too, or things that are book- related but aren’t actually books- it’s just fun to have a little variety. Especially if something has sentimental value, like some of the things you mention. I love the Disney plate because it reminds me old time souvenirs from the 70’s or 80’s. Those bring back good memories. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

