Tell Me Tuesday

1aa25-photostudio_1470712744947

Tell Me Tuesday is a weekly blog feature hosted by La La in the Library. It is where we discuss what books we have been reading and look forward to reading and why.  What books are you reading? Tell us.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-37-14-pm

Pupdate

This week I am going to start with the pupdate. Last weekend, the foster pups went to their first adoption event.  They did great! Lots of people petted them and thought they were cute but were more interested in adopting puppies.  I know there is a special family out there somewhere for them.  The foster pups had surgery Monday.  They went in to get neutered and unfortunately also had to get some teeth pulled.  Tank had four teeth pulled and Dash had eleven pulled. Yes, eleven! They were a bit groggy at first but are doing very well.  I have some soft food for them to eat this week and fortunately, they have some pain medicine I can give them.

dash.jpg

Poor Dash 😦

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-40-pm

What I Read Last

Screenshot 2017-05-22 at 8.04.36 PM

I don’t normally read a lot of mysteries and I have no idea why because I usually end up really enjoying them. Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore was no exception.  I loved that the crime took place in a bookstore and that the main character was a book seller.  There were many references to other books in the story which I think makes the story seem more real.  Lydia finds one of her patrons, Joey, dead with a photograph of her at the age of ten in his pocket.  This leads to many questions and clues that she must investigate.  Unfortunately, this means that Lydia has to find her father and relive the memory of watching her best friend be brutally murdered, a murder that was never solved.  The author does a fabulous job unraveling these two murder mysteries and each of the characters is so well written that I could relate to most of them, even the flawed ones.  A definite read for mystery lovers.

paris for one.jpg

This was a quick and easy read.  It made me long for Paris.  I have been there three times and never get tired of it.  I bought this book when I was in London in March at Waterstones.  It was a signed copy so I couldn’t pass it up.

a wilder rose.jpg

La La recommended this book to me after she noticed I had read another nonfiction book about Laura Ingalls Wilder.  This book talks about the life of Rose Wilder, Laura’s daughter, and their collaboration in writing the Little House books.  I found it very interesting.  Apparently, Rose did most of the editing and rewriting of the books.  I am a little disappointed to learn that but that doesn’t change the fact they are still Laura’s memories.  I have read Laura’s autobiography, Pioneer Girl, and the books are very true to her experiences in the Little House books.

farmer boy

After reading how the Little House books came about, I decided to re-read one of my favorite from the series, Farmer Boy. It always amazes me how hard the Pioneers worked and how nothing went to waste, not even watermelon rinds and apple cores! I hope to re-read more Little House books soon.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

What I Am Reading Now

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-15-39-pm

This book is very disappointing and dull.  I am basically skimming through it and skipping to the parts about Maggie Smith being in the Harry Potter movies and Downton Abbey.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-12-pm

What I Am Reading Next

Screenshot 2017-05-12 at 8.51.31 PM

It is time to get back to Claire and Jamie.  Now that it is summer, I have decided to read what I want! I don’t have any pressing reviews to do so I think I will relax and find out what happens next with the Frasers.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-21-pm

What are you looking forward to reading this summer? Tell me!

8 thoughts on “Tell Me Tuesday

  1. Run Wright says:

    I read that JoJo Moyes story collection in January. I didn’t enjoy it as much as some of her other books but it did increase my desire to visit Paris.
    My most recent read was Hag-seed by Margaret Atwood and I am reading some non fiction next.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. La La in the Library says:

    I am glad you liked A Wilder Rose, even though it disappointed you a bit that Rose basically wrote the books. I never read Pioneer Girl; I will have to do that. Sebastian’s fourth grade teacher read Farmer Boy to the class and he loved it. Every day he was excited to come home and tell me about the chapter she read, so I borrowed Little House, from the library, to read at bedtime, but he didn’t care for it. I was disappointed because I was all ready for a series re-read.

    It’s too bad about the Maggie book. I love her too. :/

    Does the vet think the neutering will help with the marking? I love the Pupdates! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Greg Hill says:

    Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore looks great, I wouldn’t have realized it was a mystery without your note. But I love anything set in a bookstore. 🙂

    The Little House books! Wow it’s been a while…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

