Book Blogger Hop

This post is linked up with The Sunday PostStacking the Shelves, and Saturday Situation. Be sure to check out their amazing blogs.

Here is a recap of my week.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-36-47-pm

1aa25-photostudio_1470712744947

 

Tell Me Tuesday is put on by La La in the Library.  It is a weekly blog feature where we talk about our latest reads and why we are reading them.  Be sure to check out La La’s latest books and tell us what you are reading and why.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

What I Am Reading Now

outlander6

I have been reading this book since last Tuesday and I am almost finished.  It is just shy of 1000 pages.  This is book 6 in the series.  There are currently 8 books written, number nine may be out late this year, and there are going to be 10 total in the series.  It has been great diving back into the late 1700’s and getting immersed into Claire and Jamie’s lives a few years before the Revolutionary War.  I never thought I would like historical fiction but the author makes it so interesting! Since Claire was a doctor in the present time, it is fascinating to read how she manages to heal the sick with herbs and roots in 1774.

What I Am Reading Next

courtofwing

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-37-14-pm

bookbloggerhop

Last week, I participated in my first Book Blogger Hop post. There is a weekly prompt featuring a book related question and last week’s question looked like a fun topic. Last week’s question was…

DO YOU HAVE ONLY BOOKS ON YOUR BOOKSHELVES, OR DO YOU HAVE OTHER BOOKISH ITEMS, TOO?

Here is the link to my post showing you all the things both bookish and non bookish on my shelves.

Last Week’s Book Blogger Hop Post

rabbits

This week’s question is…

If you could have lunch with any living authors and/or book bloggers, who would you choose and why?

The obvious answer for an author is J.K. Rowling because I think she is a genius.  Her writing is witty, amazing, and complex. But since you already probably guessed that one, I am going to choose instead, John Green.

IMG_4632

The reason I would choose John Green to have lunch with is because I love ALL is books. He tells such great stories and they are brilliant and funny.  I would love to ask him where he gets his inspiration and ideas and thank him for writing such great books for teenagers.  I think his most famous book, The Fault In Our Stars, got many teens back into reading again. I would also ask when is his next book coming out? It was been a few years since his last book was released.

I went to a conference put on by John and his brother, Hank.  John spoke a couple different times and I just loved everything he had to say.  Here is a small clip from his presentation on the importance of reading and writing stories.

John Green Video

I have collected all of John Green’s books and even have some autographed copies.

FullSizeRender (3)

The paperback on the left is signed and the book on the left is first printing, first edition.  I found it at a used books store.  I have never seen that cover before or since.

 

This is probably my second favorite book by John Green.  It is co-authored by David Levithan.  The amazing thing is the paperback on the right is signed by BOTH authors!

FullSizeRender (6)

The middle book is signed.  My librarian friend, Brianne, bought it and had it signed for me at a conference she was at.  I literally cried when she gave it to me.

FullSizeRender (7)

The book on the left is a signed first printing, first edition.

FullSizeRender (8)

The book on the left is another first printing, first edition and was very hard to track down.  It is the only book of John Green’s that I don’t have a signed copy of.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-12-pm

The question also asked…

If you could have lunch with any book bloggers, who would you choose and why?

My answer is absolutely, without a doubt LA LA from La La in the Library

Not only has she helped me immensely during my first year of blogging (and still does), she has a great blog, is hilarious, is passionate about many things, is not afraid to voice her opinion, and from what I read in her blog, has lead a very interesting life from working in the music industry.  I would love to talk to her about so many of these things during lunch.  However, the BIGGEST reason I would want to eat lunch with her is that I have no idea what she looks like and it drives me CRAZY!

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-21-pm

What about you? Which living author and/or book blogger would you like to have lunch with and why?

13 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop

  1. La La in the Library says:

    Did you like A Court Of Thorns and Roses? I didn’t know you had read it.

    I guess you do love John Green. So you have more of his books than Harry Potter? It’s great you have all of those signed and first editions; I’m impressed!

    Well, I hope we can have lunch or dinner when we go to see The Cursed Child on Broadway! Just add some wrinkles on my forehead (I need to cut some bangs) and a streak of grey hair to that Facebook photo with my sister and you will have a good idea what I look like. And add about 40 pounds! Ha ha. I like to wear my hair in two little knobs on top of my head. That is why I was so insulted by the MC in The Upside Of Unrequited making fun of her 40 year old boss wearing her hair that way… because I’m 59 (shhh) and I wear it like that. XD

    I am honored you chose me for a lunch buddy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • jolenewilsonblog says:

      I did like A court of Thorns and Roses. The second book was good too. I am worried about the third. I think it is hard to end a series or trilogy well. I had started her Throne of Glass series and enjoyed the first three books but lost interest after that. I felt like the rules of magic kept changing and just got too confusing.
      I think I still have more HP books ham John Green books. I have four different sets of HP books and working on a fifth with the illustrated editions.
      I would love to meet up with you in NYC. You can wear your hair however you want! I mentioned to my husband I would like to explore that part of the US sometime. I have never been to Vermont or New Hampshire or upstate NY.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Greg Hill says:

    Wow those Gabaldon books are huge but they do sound good. They have such evocative titles too, I’ve always thought that ever since I first saw them in a bookstore. Do you watch the show?

    I haven’t read any John Green yet…

    I hope you and LaLa get that chance to have lunch sometime… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. La La in the Library says:

    Everyone kept recommending the TOG books to me and I bought the novella ebook bindup and the first three books as ebooks. Thank goodness they were all on sale because I do not care for assassin stories. I don’t mind if a book has assasinins in it, I just don’t like stories with MCs who are assassins. I will probably never end up reading them. Are the ACOTAR books assasin free?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lissa says:

    I think I rather have lunch with the characters from books instead of the authors, though if I have to choose, it would pick Alice Hoffman or Amy Tan – two really great authors and maybe stephen king as I think he’s a rather funny guy though I cannot read his books as I’m not a fan of horrors.

    hope you have a lovely day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

