Blog Post #105

sunday

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by The Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on my blog and showcase books and things I have received for the week ahead.

Currently Reading

dyinggame

Just Finished Reading

hP5

saturdaysituation

Saturday Situation is put on by Pure Imagination. It is were we review our latest reads. Be sure to check out theirs as well.

faithful

LA LA IN THE LIBRARY has been raving about this author lately, so I asked her for a recommendation of which Alice Hoffman book I should read.  She said this one because the main character, Shelby, rescues dog like me.  So naturally I went to the library as soon as I could and checked it out.

MY REVIEW

This is a great coming of age story about a young lady, Shelby, who survives a car crash, but her best friend, Helene, is in a coma.  Shelby is wracked with guilt and doesn’t believe she should carry on with her life while Helene can’t so she hides in her parents basement after having a mental breakdown and spending a short amount of time in a psych ward.  One of the only people she can talk to is Ben, the guy from high school that supplies her with pot.

I think the author did a great job of keeping the story interesting.  There was just enough mystery to keep me engaged.  Who is sending Shelby cryptic post cards encouraging her? Will Helene recover? Will Shelby end up with Ben or never figure out how to forgive herself and feel worthy of love?

I loved the parts where Shelby rescues dogs.  I believe the author was using this as a parallel to Shelby’s life and circumstances.  The dogs she saves are either abandoned or mistreated.  Shelby gives them a home and love and the dogs learn to trust again which is what Shelby must learn to do if she is to survive and forgive herself.

 

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-12-pm

stacking

Stacking the Shelves is put on by Tynga at Tynga’s Reviews. Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves. Here are the books I have added to my TBR list this week.

reason

I checked this book out from my library.  I enjoyed another book from this author so I thought I would give this one a try.

Goodreads Book Blurb

A Vietnam vet embarking on a quixotic crusade to track down his nemesis from the war.

After sixty-eight-year-old David Granger crashes his BMW, medical tests reveal a brain tumor that he readily attributes to his wartime Agent Orange exposure. He wakes up from surgery repeating a name no one in his civilian life has ever heard—that of a Native American soldier whom he was once ordered to discipline. David decides to return something precious he long ago stole from the man he now calls Clayton Fire Bear. It might be the only way to find closure in a world increasingly at odds with the one he served to protect. It might also help him finally recover from his wife’s untimely demise.

 

welcomehome.jpg

LA LA IN THE LIBRARY was sweet enough to send me this ARC.  I am very excited to read it since I am the oldest of NINE adopted children.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

bookbloggerhop

The Book Blogger Hop is put on by The Coffee Addicted Writer . There is a weekly prompt featuring a book related question.

 This week’s question is submitted by Kristin @ Lukten av Trykksverte!

This weeks prompt is…

What is your go-to drink and/or snack while reading?

rabbits

My Answer…

I don’t usually snack while I read but I definitely have a hot beverage by my side. I am usually drinking green tea or coffee. Here are my favorites.

IMG_1037

 

IMG_1038

And when I am drinking these hot beverages, I am usually drinking them out of one of my two favorite mugs.

IMG_1036

What are you reading this week? And what are you drinking or eating while you read?

 

7 thoughts on “Blog Post #105

  1. La La in the Library says:

    I am so happy you liked Faithful, and that you are excited to read Welcome Home!

    I love Bigelows green tea. I always put three teabags of it in with the regular tea when I make iced tea to give a health boost. I sometimes add a bag when I make hot tea, for the same reason. Coffee! I could not live without it. 🙂

    I need one of those “Don’t let the muggles bring you down” mugs. I love it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

