Tell Me Tuesday

1aa25-photostudio_1470712744947

Tell Me Tuesday is a weekly blog feature put on by La La in the Library.  It is where we discuss what we have been, currently are, and will be reading.  What are you reading? Tell me.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-21-pm

WHAT I READ LAST

Screen Shot 2018-12-18 at 11.01.27 AM

I loved this book.  It has such great story telling that seamlessly weaves in magical realism and folk lore.  Even though it took me awhile to get into the story, due to the character building, I found myself drawn into the many intrinsicities of the characters and the quaint setting of the town.  I had loved the author’s first book but was not a fan of the second so I am happy this book was so fantastic so I can continue to read more books by this author.

 

Screen Shot 2019-02-17 at 7.32.45 PM

screen shot 2019-01-17 at 1.58.37 pm

I also read this for the “They Call it Puppy Love Reading Challenge.”  I put a review up on my Furs-Day Feature.  Check out the review here.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

CURRENTLY READING

Screen Shot 2018-12-14 at 8.56.06 AM

GOODREADS

I am reading this for the “They Call it Puppy Love Reading Challenge” put on by Barb @BookerTsFarm.  Click here to join in.

Screen Shot 2019-02-21 at 2.28.56 PM.png

GOODREADS

La La in the Library was raving about this books so I decided to grab it from my library. I adore the cover!

Stella lives in the segregated South; in Bumblebee, North Carolina, to be exact about it. Some stores she can go into. Some stores she can’t. Some folks are right pleasant. Others are a lot less so. To Stella, it sort of evens out, and heck, the Klan hasn’t bothered them for years. But one late night, later than she should ever be up, much less wandering around outside, Stella and her little brother see something they’re never supposed to see, something that is the first flicker of change to come, unwelcome change by any stretch of the imagination. As Stella’s community – her world – is upended, she decides to fight fire with fire. And she learns that ashes don’t necessarily signify an end.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

WHAT I AM READING NEXT

Screen Shot 2019-02-08 at 9.08.43 AM

GOODREADS

Joe never wanted to come back to Arnhill. After the way things ended with his old gang–the betrayal, the suicide, the murder–and after what happened when his sister went missing, the last thing he wanted to do was return to his hometown. But Joe doesn’t have a choice. Because judging by what was done to that poor Morton kid, what happened all those years ago to Joe’s sister is happening again. And only Joe knows who is really at fault.

Screen Shot 2019-02-21 at 2.23.39 PM.png

GOODREADS

This is now on Netflix and I have heard good things but I wanted to read the book first.

From debut author Caroline Kepnes comes You, one of Suspense Magazine’s Best Books of 2014, and a brilliant and terrifying novel for the social media age.

When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.

arrows

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

THIS WEEK’S TOP TEN TUESDAY TOPIC IS…

Places Mentioned In Books That I’d Like to Visit

Screen Shot 2018-11-01 at 10.47.42 AM

Tokyo, Japan

loveandgelato

Florence, Itlay

greatalone

Alaska

hp1

Hogwarts

out

Scotland

Screen Shot 2018-10-25 at 2.46.43 PM

Ireland

hobbit

The Shire

lesmis

Paris, France

ove

Sweden

screen shot 2019-01-25 at 9.38.59 am

Iceland

11 thoughts on “Tell Me Tuesday

Leave a comment