Tell Me (Top Ten) Tuesday

1aa25-photostudio_1470712744947

Tell Me Tuesday is a weekly blog feature put on by La La in the Library.  It is where we discuss what we have been, currently are, and will be reading.  What are you reading? Tell me!

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-21-pm

WHAT I READ LAST

Screen Shot 2019-05-19 at 8.48.32 AM.png

GOODREADS

A FANTASTIC FIVE STAR BOOK!!!  Do yourself a favor and go read this book!  Kya is abandoned by everyone she loves and by the age of eight is living on her own in the marshes of North Carolina.  She teaches herself to cook and makes money by digging up mussels every morning and selling them to a local market.   An older boy, Tate, helps her learn to read which changes her life forever.  Kya’s family and friends are the birds, animals, and insects that liver with her in the marsh.  She is happy and content.  Years later, an acquaintance of Kya’s, Chase, is found dead in the Marsh, and Kya is arrested for his murder.   Kya has been alone for years, away from the towns people but now she is front and center for the trial.  This amazing story deals with poverty, abuse, resilience, friendship, and prejudice.  It is beautifully written and the mystery of who killed Chase will keep you turning the pages.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

CURRENTLY READING

Screen Shot 2019-04-04 at 12.01.52 PM

GOODREADS

The only child of a single mother, Nina has her life just as she wants it: a job in a bookstore, a kick-butt trivia team, a world-class planner and a cat named Phil. If she sometimes suspects there might be more to life than reading, she just shrugs and picks up a new book.

When the father Nina never knew existed suddenly dies, leaving behind innumerable sisters, brothers, nieces, and nephews, Nina is horrified. They all live close by! They’re all—or mostly all—excited to meet her! She’ll have to Speak. To. Strangers. It’s a disaster! And as if that wasn’t enough, Tom, her trivia nemesis, has turned out to be cute, funny, and deeply interested in getting to know her. Doesn’t he realize what a terrible idea that is?

Nina considers her options.

1. Completely change her name and appearance. (Too drastic, plus she likes her hair.)
2. Flee to a deserted island. (Hard pass, see: coffee).
3. Hide in a corner of her apartment and rock back and forth. (Already doing it.)

It’s time for Nina to come out of her comfortable shell, but she isn’t convinced real life could ever live up to fiction. It’s going to take a brand-new family, a persistent suitor, and the combined effects of ice cream and trivia to make her turn her own fresh page.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

WHAT I AM READING NEXT

Screen Shot 2019-05-30 at 10.01.47 AM.png

GOODREADS

arrows

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

THIS WEEK’S TOP TEN TUESDAY TOPIC IS…

 Books From My Favorite Genre

I am going to create a genre haha.  Dog Books! And of course I couldn’t pick just 10.

myolddog

dogtripping.jpg

Gizelle

atticus.jpg

 

gobi

craigandfred

 

sadie

 until tuesday
No Buddy Left Behind: Bringing U.S. Troops' Dogs and Cats Safely Home from the Combat Zone

Sergeant Stubby: How a Stray Dog and His Best Friend Helped Win World War I and Stole the Heart of a Nation

Travels with Casey
 
Marley and Me: Life and Love With the World's Worst Dog

Soldier Dogs

 

11 thoughts on “Tell Me (Top Ten) Tuesday

  1. Barb (boxermommyreads) says:

    I own a lot of these (and won some from you 🙂 but I do think I need to get Sergeant Stubby. He’s so adorable. And hey, dog books are definitely a genre in my opinion. I sort of switched mine up to books I read strictly because there was a dog on the cover. I actually got a dog book done over the weekend so I’ll have a new one to review on Thursday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. La La in the Library says:

    I don’t think I could read Marley and Me because the movie destroyed me. 😭

    As you know I loved Gizelle’s Bucket List and I enjoyed Finding Gobi a lot. 🐕✨

    I have Following Atticus, and the book about senior dogs looks fabulous! Hopefully I can get to those during DDOS. 👍✨

    Thanks for TMTing. 😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment