Weekend Wrap Up #95

sunday

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @The Caffeinated Book Reviewer It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. Here is what I have been up to this last week.

DogDaysofSummer

THE DOG DAYS OF SUMMER READING CHALLENGE HOSTED BY LA LA IN THE LIBRARY AND MYSELF OFFICIALLY STARTED ON AUGUST 1ST.  THE CHALLENGE IS SIMPLE.  DURING THE MONTH OF AUGUST, READ AND POST ABOUT AS MANY BOOKS ABOUT DOGS, BOOKS WITH DOGS ON THE COVER, OR BOOKS WRITTEN BY DOGS (KIDDING) AS YOU WANT.  THERE WILL BE A COUPLE GIVEAWAYS AND  SOME FUN DOG RELATED BLOG POSTS AND CHALLENGES THROUGHOUT THE MONTH AS WELL.

CHECK OUT MORE DETAILS HERE AND OVER ON LA LA’S BLOG.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-21-pm

WHAT I WATCHED

Screen Shot 2019-08-02 at 9.02.44 PM.png

I thought this was a cute movie and I loved the soundtrack.  If you like the Beatles and their music, definitely go see this one.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-12-pm

What I Read Last

Screen Shot 2019-06-06 at 1.41.19 PM

GOODREADS

Enzo knows he is different from other dogs: a philosopher with a nearly human soul (and an obsession with opposable thumbs), he has educated himself by watching television extensively, and by listening very closely to the words of his master, Denny Swift, an up-and-coming race car driver.

MY THOUGHTS

This book was more serious than I thought it would be.  I enjoyed the humorous and insightful perspective of the dog, Enzo, as the narrator.  The book wasn’t as sad as I thought it would be but it may make you cry.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

CURRENTLY READING

Screen Shot 2019-07-27 at 7.42.17 PM

GOODREADS

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-12-pm

stacking.png

Stacking the Shelves is put on by Tynga at Tynga’s Reviews. Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves. Here are the books I have added to my TBR list this week.

I grabbed this from the library.

Screen Shot 2019-06-23 at 8.29.49 AM

GOODREADS

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See, Beneath a Scarlet Sky, and The Nightingale comes an emotionally gripping, beautifully written historical novel about extraordinary hope, redemption, and one man’s search for light during the darkest times of World War II.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-21-pmbookbloggerhop

The Book Blogger Hop is put on by The Coffee Addicted Writer . There is a weekly prompt featuring a book related question.

THIS WEEK’S QUESTION IS SUBMITTED BY Billy @ Coffee Addicted Writer.

THIS WEEKS PROMPT IS…

Do you own more than one copy of a book?

MY ANSWER

YES!  I own the American and British versions of the Harry Potter Series and also have the illustrated editions and Kindle editions.  I have four different copies of The Fault In Our Stars.  I also have the paperbacks and hardbacks of The Little House on the Prairie books

 

 

 

Advertisements

19 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap Up #95

  1. *Flora* says:

    Hi Jo, just catching up on fellow BBH posts. 😉

    I don’t own more than one copy of any book per se but I do own different formats of the same book. For example, I’ve got the paperback versions of Holly Bell’s Amanda Cadabra Mysteries as well as the Kindle versions. I own the Kindle version of Teresa Gabelman’s The Protectors series and also the Audible versions so that I can access my favourite reads wherever I am.

    Having said that, like you, I’m sure the collector in me would also want a favourite book in multiple paperbacks if they changed the covers like in the Harry Potter series. 😉

    I hope you have a wonderful weekend. Here’s my BBH Post

    Flora x

    Like

  2. Nicci (@SunnyBuzzyBlogs) says:

    When I own multiple copies of the same book it tends to be across different mediums such as the audio and print or kindle. I own a few paperbacks and their graphic novel counterparts too (thanks to my son). I think the only series I own multiple versions in the same format is Harry Potter… I own multiple sets due to different covers. I also own the illustrated versions. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Literary Feline says:

    You are the first person I know who has seen Yesterday. I really want to see that movie and am glad you enjoyed it. I saw a preview this weekend for The Art of Racing in the Rain. It looks like it will be good. I haven’t read the book. I don’t especially like to read books in which the animals die, no matter how good they may be. The Ragged Edge of Night sounds good! I hope you are enjoying it.

    Yet another person mentioning the illustrated versions of the Harry Potter series. I need to add those to my wish list!

    I hope you have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to shelleyrae @ Book'd Out Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s