Weekend Wrap Up

sunday

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @The Caffeinated Book Reviewer It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. Here is what I have been up to this last week.

CURRENTLY READING

names

This came in for me at the library so I am going to take a quick hiatus from ARC August and DOG DAYS OF SUMMER to read this book.

GOODREADS BOOK BLURB

Everything is going right for Lucy Hansson, until her mom’s cancer reappears. Just like that, Lucy breaks with all the constants in her life: her do-good boyfriend, her steady faith, even her longtime summer church camp job.

Instead, Lucy lands at a camp for kids who have been through tough times. As a counselor, Lucy is in over her head and longs to be with her parents across the lake. But that’s before she gets to know her coworkers, who are as loving and unafraid as she so desperately wants to be.

It’s not just new friends that Lucy discovers at camp—more than one old secret is revealed along the way. In fact, maybe there’s much more to her family and her faith than Lucy ever realized.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-40-pm

dogdaysofsummer

LA LA IN THE LIBRARY and I are participating in the DOG DAYS OF SUMMER Reading Challenge. We will be reading books about dogs and we are going to be doing dog themed activities on our blogs for the entire month of August! Be sure to check out our DOG TAG post.

dogtag

My latest read for the DOG DAYS OF SUMMER reading challenge was What the Dog Knows. It talks about how working dogs are raised and trained to do all sorts of jobs that help and protect the public.  Even though there are many kinds of service dogs, this book focused on the type of service dog the author trains, which is a cadaver dog.  There were many interesting facts and stories but I found myself skimming over much of the book.  I enjoyed reading the parts about the author getting her German Shepherd puppy and training it.  Some of the other parts were a bit dull.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

saturdaysituation

Saturday Situation is put on by Pure Imagination. It is were we review our latest reads. Be sure to check out theirs as well.

bookshop

 

MY REVIEW

How to Find Love in a Bookshop was the perfect summer light read. The story unfolds when the owner of Nightingale Books dies and his daughter Emilia decides to take over. There are quite a few characters introduced early in the story and we learn about each of them from their point of view. Because there were so many characters, it took me about a quarter of the way into the book before I became completely engrossed. I liked how the characters eventually all become connected to the story. The author does such a great job visually describing the book shop that I had no trouble imagining myself strolling through the aisles or curling up in a comfy chair reading a book. Even though the ending is a bit predictable, I highly recommend this fun and cozy read.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-21-pm

stacking

Stacking the Shelves is put on by Tynga at Tynga’s Reviews. Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves. Here are the books I have added to my TBR list this week.

martinwilson

This book was sent to me from the publisher. I will be doing a separate post to review the book and interview the author.

Book Blurb

Sam Walsh had been missing for three years. His older sister, Beth, thought he was dead. His childhood friend Josh thought it was all his fault. They were the last two people to see him alive.  Until now. Because Sam has been found, and he’s coming home. Beth desperately wants to understand what happened to her brother, but her family refuses to talk about it—even though Sam is clearly still affected by the abuse he faced at the hands of his captor.

savingsadie

I received this book from NetGalley and will definitely be reading it for DOG DAYS OF SUMMER!

Book Blurb

Joal Derse Dauer was just donating blankets at a local no-kill shelter when a disabled and despondent dog caught her eye. With three “fur babies” already at home, Joal wasn’t looking to adopt another dog. But there was something special about Sadie, a shepherd mix who had been shot in the head and in the back and left for dead in the hills of Kentucky after giving birth. One gaze into those sorrowful eyes and Joal vowed to do everything possible to get the pitiful creature walking again.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-12-pm

bookbloggerhop

The Book Blogger Hop is put on by The Coffee Addicted Writer . There is a weekly prompt featuring a book related question.

THIS WEEK’S QUESTION IS SUBMITTED BY Kristin @ Lukten av Trykksverte!

This weeks prompt is…

Do you participate in readathons and/or reading challenges?

rabbits

MY ANSWER…

I have never participated in a readathon but I have participated in many reading challenges.  I have several this year that I am doing.  I also challenged my self to re-read the Harry Potter books this year.  I am on book 6.  Here are some of the challenges I am doing below along with the DOG DAYS OF SUMMER reading challenge.

screenshot-2016-12-31-at-1-53-14-pmscreenshot-2016-12-31-at-1-52-20-pmScreenshot (2)arc-august2

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-37-14-pm

PUPDATE!

I FOUND THIS AWESOME DOG BED AT TJ MAXX SO I BOUGHT IT FOR MY SENIOR FOSTER DOG, TRIXIE.  SHE SEEMS TO LOVE IT!

15 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap Up

  1. Greg Hill says:

    The Names They Gave Us is supposed to be pretty good, from what I’ve seen. Hope you like it! And that Dog Tag is awesome, my post will be up on Wednesday. I love the fact that the bookstore in How To Find Love In A Bookshop sounds so cozy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

