Dog Days of Summer

dogdaysofsummer

THE DOG DAYS OF SUMMER READING CHALLENGE IS HOSTED BY MYSELF AND LA LA IN THE LIBRARY (it was her idea though). WE ARE GOING TO READ BOOKS ABOUT DOGS AND HAVE SOME DOG RELATED BLOG POSTS.  I WILL HAVE A GIVEAWAY LATER IN THE MONTH.

I HOPE YOU WILL JOIN US. BELOW ARE SOME DOG BOOKS THAT ARE ON SALE ON AMAZON.

thedog

 

The Dog by Amy Cross-This one is only $.99 for Kindle

howdogsloveus

How Dogs Love Us by Gregory Berns-$5.99 on Kindle

dogmedicine

Dog Medicine: How My Dog Saved Me from Myself

This one is not on sale but it sounded really good! I might have to look for it at my library.

 

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-36-47-pm

I was able to finish one Dog book so far and it was a good one!

gobi

ADULT NON-FICTION

MY REVIEW

This was such an uplifting and fun read. I was expecting a book about an abandoned dog that races across China with the author who is an ultra marathon runner. Even though this does happen, there is so much more to the story. As you can guess from the title, Gobi gets lost, in a crowded, dangerous part of China. The author, Dion, goes to amazing lengths to find Gobi. I love that the author bonds with this stray after only a few days and spends countless time and money to try and get her back. Not only does Dion fall in love with Gobi, so do the other runners in the race. Gobi soon becomes famous in China. The story goes back and forth from the past to the present. The author talks about how he got into running, his previous races, and the death of his father. All these examples of challenges and perseverance help Dion on his quest to find Gobi and try to bring her home.

There are some great videos and interviews of Gobi and Dion at www.findinggobi.com

gobikids

There is also a children’s book version of the Gobi story.  The pictures in this book are beautiful and I love how the story was told for little ones to understand.  The book only focuses on the racing part of Gobi and Dion’s story.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

While I was searching for dog books, a few popped up from my childhood that I had sadly forgotten about.  One of my favorites is one that my dad used to read to me as a little girl.

godoggo

I also saw these and had a DUH! moment.  How could I forget about Snoopy? I loved reading the comic strip every Sunday in the paper, watching the cartoons on tv, and going to the library to get these books.

snoopy

Do you have some favorite dog books from when you were a kid?

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-12-pm

PUPDATE!

I found this awesome dog bed at TJ Maxx so I bought it for my senior foster dog, Trixie.  She seems to love it!

 

Be sure to check out La La’s Dog Days of Summer Post HERE! She has some great Dog books she will be reading this month.

 screenshot-2017-01-21-at-11-35-16-am

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Dog Days of Summer

  1. La La in the Library says:

    I love that they made a children’s version of Gobi! Go Dog Go is my son’s favorite Seuss Book, too. I loved the Peanuts comic strip and the tv specials, too, but somehow I was unaware that there were books! I first saw Greg mention them on his blog a couple of years ago. I might start looking for them in charity shops. They would be great to collect. I adore that dog bed and it’s even cuter with Trixie on it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Barb (boxermommyreads) says:

    I already own The Dog by Amy Cross but haven’t read it. I’m bad about grabbing Kindle books and then forgetting about it. That children’s book about Gobi is too cute and would make a perfect gift. I’ve ALWAYS loves Snoopy – in fact he’s the only reason I ever watched Peanuts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

