What are you Reading?

bookdate

IT’S MONDAY! WHAT ARE YOU READING? IS A PLACE TO MEET UP AND SHARE WHAT YOU HAVE BEEN, ARE, AND ABOUT TO BE READING OVER THE WEEK. IT IS HOSTED BY KATHRYN AT THE BOOK DATE.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-37-14-pm

dogdaysofsummer

I am participating in two Reading Challenges this month.  The first one is hosted by myself and La La in the Library. We are going to read books about dogs and have some dog related blog posts.  I will have a giveaway later in the month.

arc-august2

The second challenge is ARC August put on by Read Sleep Repeat. The goal is to read as many ARCs as you can.  I have four I would like to read in August.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

Currently Reading

howtofindlove

ADULT FICTION

halfbloodprince

YOUNG ADULT

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-21-pm

What I will be Reading Next

whatthedogknows

ADULT NON-FICTION

OR

littlefires

ADULT FICTION

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-12-pm

What I Read Last

gobi

ADULT NON-FICTION

MY REVIEW

This was such an uplifting and fun read. I was expecting a book about an abandoned dog that races across China with the author who is an ultra marathon runner. Even though this does happen, there is so much more to the story. As you can guess from the title, Gobi gets lost, in a crowded, dangerous part of China. The author, Dion, goes to amazing lengths to find Gobi. I love that the author bonds with this stray after only a few days and spends countless time and money to get her back. Not only does Dion fall in love with Gobi, so do the other runners in the race. Gobi soon becomes famous in China. The story goes back and forth from the past to the present. The author talks about how he got into running, his previous races, and the death of his father. All these examples of challenges and perseverance help Dion on his quest to find Gobi and bring her home.

7 thoughts on “What are you Reading?

  1. Kathy Martin says:

    I will be focusing on some ARCs this month since I’m working through all my September releases. Somehow thirteen sneaked onto my pile. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

