Blog Post #103

sunday

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by The Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on my blog and showcase books and things I have received for the week ahead.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-37-14-pm

I have had a busy week of reading. I am currently working on my re-read of the Harry Potter series. I am on Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.  It is my favorite book and movie.  I am always sad when I am done reading it. Be sure to check out below the other books I have been reading and looking forward to reading.

hP5

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-36-47-pm

saturdaysituation

Saturday Situation is put on by Pure Imagination. It is were we review our latest reads. Be sure to check out theirs as well.

lauras

My Review

I always love a good road trip book. Alex’s mother and Alex take off in the middle of the night to settle some problems from the past. Alex was definitely my favorite character. Alex is an awkward teen who is a loner but curious about other teens. We never find out the gender of Alex which added an interesting plot device for Alex. On the road trip, Alex’s mom talks about her past and the struggles she faced growing up. In each story, there are different women that have influenced her life. She calls them all Laura. This story kept me engaged because I liked visiting all the places Alex and her mom visited and trying to piece together how Alex’s mom past and all the Lauras were going to lead to the conclusion of the story. My reasoning for the four stars instead of five is that I feel like there could have been more. I feel there were a few things left unanswered and I would have liked a bit more character development. Other than that, this book is a fun and easy read that made me want to hop in the car and see the country.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-12-pm

stacking

Stacking the Shelves is put on by Tynga at Tynga’s Reviews. Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves. Here are the books I have added to my TBR list.

faithful.jpg

This book was recommended to me by La La in the Library. I checked this one out from the Library.

Book Blurb-a soul-searching story about a young woman struggling to redefine herself and the power of love, family, and fate.

misfortune.jpg

I grabbed this book from First To Read.  I thought the cover was hilarious and the book summary interesting.

Book Blurb-A wildly entertaining debut about a Brooklyn Heights wife and mother who has embezzled a small fortune from her children’s private school and makes a run for it, leaving behind her trust fund poet husband, his maybe-secret lover, her two daughters, and a school board who will do anything to find her.

dyinggame

I also got this book from First to Read.

Book Blurb-A masterly locked-room mystery set in a near-future Orwellian state, in which seven people are brought to a remote island to compete in a 48-hour test for a top-secret intelligence position, and one woman must stage her own death.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

 

bookbloggerhop

The Book Blogger Hop is put on by The Coffee Addicted Writer . There is a weekly prompt featuring a book related question. This weeks prompt is…

 In one sentence, describe your passion for reading.

(submitted by Billy @ Coffee Addicted Writer)

“My passion for reading is what keeps me sane!”

reading.png

What about you? Describe your passion for reading in the comments. Thanks for stopping by and have a great week reading what makes  you happy!

8 thoughts on “Blog Post #103

  1. La La in the Library says:

    I am happy you liked The Lauras! The blurb I read in the Netgalley newsletter said mother-daughter road trip; I am doubly intrigued that it is actually non gendered! I wish I didn’t have so many books to get to first because after reading your description, I want to read it right away. 🙂

    I think you will love Faithful! Coming Home is supposed to arrive on your doorstep on Tuesday. I will Messenger the tracking # in a few minutes. 🙂

    I didn’t do the Book Blogger Hop again this week because, once again, I didn’t want to be the odd (wo)man out. Ha ha. I really don’t consider my reading a passion. It is just something I do like eating I guess. It’s hard to explain. I just read to read. I consider my music a passion, and I used to consider photography and film making a passion. I guess it is just a habit to me. I hope maybe some day I will come up with a word for it. Ha ha. More than a hobby, less than a passion, not exactly a pastime. I strongly agree with the sanity thing though. 🙂

    Like

  2. Greg Hill says:

    The Dying Game certainly looks interesting, and The Misfortune of Marion Palm- love that cover with the mom fleeing in the upper right corner. Cute cover. 🙂 Sounds like a fun read too.

    Hope you’re having a nice weekend…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

