Book Blogger Hop

This post is linked with The Sunday PostStacking the Shelves, and Saturday Situation. Be sure to check out their blogs and what they have been reading lately.

 

bookbloggerhop

Book Blogger Hop is a weekly feature put on by The Coffee Addicted Writer.  It is where a new question is asked each week by different bloggers.  This week’s question is submitted by Kristin @ Lukten av Trykksverte.

And the question is…

What book has changed your life?

rabbits

Ok, first off there is NO WAY that I can name just one book and if I did, it would most likely be Harry Potter and that just seems predictable and cliche. So I am going to list 3 books that changed my life for very different reasons.

#1

until tuesday.jpgBook Summary

Until Tuesday is the story of how two wounded warriors, who had given so much and suffered the consequences, found salvation in each other. It is a story about war and peace, injury and recovery, psychological wounds and spiritual restoration. But more than that, it is a story about the love between a man and dog, and how, together, they healed each other’s souls.

Before I read this book, I had no idea there were service dogs that helped veterans and people with medical conditions other than blindness. This book made me realize how intelligent, loving, devoted, and self-less dogs really are.  Because of this book, I looked at dogs differently and started reading anything I could on service dogs, military dogs, and rescued dogs.  This all eventually led to me fostering dogs in my own home.  Now, I can’t imagine my life without a dog in it. Check out my DOG BOOKS page for more awesome books on dogs.

screenshot-2017-01-21-at-11-35-16-am

#2

FullSizeRender (7)

Ok some of you may roll your eyes at this one but it truly did change my life.  It changed the way I looked at teenagers which was good since I have two teenagers and work with teens on a daily basis.  I became more tolerant, empathetic, and understanding of what teens are dealing with everyday.  I learned about teens dealing with self-harm, eating disorders, mental illness, suicide etc. This book deals with teens and cancer and is very well written which led me to read other John Green books which led me to read more Young Adult books which led me to blogging.

#3

screenshot-2017-01-26-at-9-59-33-am

I know! This is not a surprise but I had to include the Harry Potter books.  I started reading them about 10 years ago when my son was interested in them.  I fell in love with them instantly.  At first it was because the story was so good.  After re-reading them, it was because of how well written they were.  I have lost count of how many times I have read them but because of these books, my family has watched the movies together, gone to the theme parks together, and just have had something in common to talk about and face it, that can be hard to do with teenagers sometimes. I truly feel like I will always have this in common with my kids and I hope to share Harry Potter with my grand kids someday.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

So now I ask you, what book or books have changed your life?

Please leave a comment and let me know.

7 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop

  1. Literary Feline (Wendy) says:

    What a great response to this question! So many good books. I love the Harry Potter books too. Until Tuesday sounds like a great book. I can’t credit a book for my knowledge about service animals, but I have been lucky in life to encounter a number of them that are amazing and wonderful. And not just dogs.

    I hope you have a great weekend! Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Katherine P says:

    I like your list and the reasons you mentioned. Until Tuesday sounds like an amazing book and I’m thinking I might not have given A Fault in Our Stars enough of a chance. I kind of dismissed it as an angsty teen book. I think I might need to reconsider!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. La La in the Library says:

    I love your answers! Harry Potter certainly is a help with family bonding. It’s amazing how we will stumble upon books we need in our lives at just the right times. I was going to do this prompt, but I couldn’t think of any one particular book that changed my life. I guess mine would just be reading in general. I’ll be hopping back on this feature next week. Thanks for sharing your list and the dog book page. I have to start planning my Dog Days Of August reading list. I am sure your dog page will help. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Greg Hill says:

    That’s awesome that you foster dogs and all that from reading a book! How cool. Books really can change lives in so many ways.

    I’ve never read John Green but sounds like he really “gets” the teen experience and can convey it in books so well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

