Stacking My Shelves

screenshot-2016-10-31-at-8-15-02-pm

The Sunday Post and Saturday Situation are weekly blog posts that feature what books we have been reading.  Be sure to check out their latest reads. What books have  you been reading lately? Tell us!

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

My Lastest Reads

Screenshot 2017-04-10 at 5.15.52 PM

One morning, Deming Guo’s mother, an undocumented Chinese immigrant named Polly, goes to her job at the nail salon and never comes home. No one can find any trace of her.

This book was confusing to read at times. It would take me awhile to figure out who was narrating because it switches back and forth. It also switches from the past to the present. It just didn’t make the story flow very well. However, I did like the author’s purpose of this book. The themes of love and sacrifice, family and honor, and the struggles of an illegal immigrant are sprinkled throughout the book. I did not like the way the main character, Daniel, treated his adoptive parents. Being adopted myself, I have always been grateful to the people who took me in and loved and supported me my whole life. I feel Daniel was a jerk to them most of the time. I believe this is Lisa Ko’s debut novel and will most likely give her future books a try.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-12-pm

Screenshot 2017-05-12 at 8.27.32 PM

A dazzling story told in verse, of sixteen-year-old Declan Lynch and the girl whose centuries-old voice rings in his head.

This was a quick read because it was written in verse.  It was unusual but interesting.  I liked the references to the folk lore of Ireland and the love story weaved between the stanzas.  I highly recommend for those who love to read poetry.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-21-pm

What I Am Reading Next

screenshot-2017-01-16-at-6-34-33-pm

I DON’T KNOW!!!

I had a couple books come in at the library so I may start on these. If you know me at all, you know I am sucker for dog books.

 Or I might continue reading the Outlander series.  I am on book six.

Screenshot 2017-05-12 at 8.51.31 PM.png

Or I might continue my re-read of the Harry Potter series.  I am on book four.

Screenshot 2017-05-12 at 8.53.41 PM

So many choices, so little time!

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-40-pm

Pupdate

The foster pups continue to thrive.  They were getting a little scraggly looking so I took them to get groomed.  I have never had to groom a dog before so this was a new experience for me.  I couldn’t believe how amazing they looked.

 

 Have a great week!

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Stacking My Shelves

  1. La La in the Library says:

    Everytime I see a true story dog book I think of you! It is paining me that I went off the tracks again with ARCs (part of that problem was winning four ARCs from Goodreads in one month, when does that EVER happen) and I am not finding time to do a re-read of Sorcerer’s Stone with my illustrated edition. 😦

    Ahh, the pupper wuppers; I love seeing their updates!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

