Book to TV Series Adaptations

This post is linked up with The Sunday PostStacking the Shelves , and The Saturday Situation.

Screenshot 2017-04-22 at 9.50.58 AM

It seems there have been quite a few Book to TV series adaptations.  I say TV but I guess it is usually cable or Netflix series.  I am going to highlight some of my recent favorites and ones I am looking forward to.  I would love to know yours as well.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

Books to TV Series That I Have Seen/Or Are Currently Watching

I loved the books but there were so many characters that I had to start making a list of how they were all connected.   That is one of the reasons I like the HBO series, it is easier to keep track of all the kingdoms and characters.

I haven’t quite finished the Netflix series yet but it is so good! It seems to be pretty faithful to the book. I have five episodes left.

 

I am ashamed to say that I have only read a couple Sherlock stories.  I found them difficult to read and understand.  However, the BBC series is fantastic! The first 3 seasons can be found on Netflix and the 4th season was on my local PBS channel.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-12-pm

Book To TV Series That I Will Be Watching Soon

My sister-in-law got me hooked on this book.  She had watched the HBO series and started reading the novel and asked if I wanted to buddy read it with her so of course I said yes!  I am about a third of the way through the book and it is really good and humorously accurate.  I look forward to watching the HBO series soon.  I love the three actresses that are in this adaptation.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-21-pm

Book To TV Series That I Am Looking Forward To.

The Handmaid’s Tale has been made into a movie more than once but this is the first time, I believe, that is will be a series.  It begins April 24th.

I am so EXCITED for this HBO series!!! If you don’t know, Robert Galbraith is a pseudonym for JK ROWLING!!!  This murder mystery series is amazing of course because JKR is amazing.  There is no definite date for when this series starts.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-40-pm

What Book to TV series adaptations are your favorites or looking forward to?

12 thoughts on “Book to TV Series Adaptations

  1. Drew @ The Tattooed Book Geek says:

    Game of Thrones is great in both formats, though each series of the TV show has been quality and the last two books didn’t live upto the first three.

    Sherlock Holmes books are predominantly awesome, love them, the series not so much, the first two series were great, some decent moments in the third but I just didn’t feel the fourth.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Greg Hill says:

    I really enjoyed 13 Reasons Why and it has so much going on, so much to make you think. I’ve been enjoying seeing the different reactions around the blogosphere too. Definitely thought provoking. And Game of Thrones- I love the books, the show is just okay for me, but I’ll be right there watching when it comes back on lol. Especially since we’re moving past the books now.

    I was very fond of big Little Lies (the book) it cracked me up at times. Oh calamity ha ha. And I thought the HBO version was great.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Angela says:

    I’ve only watched the first season or two of Game of Thrones. We don’t have HBO, so we had to wait until it came out on DVD, and we just haven’t kept up with it. I love the books so much, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. priyankaswonderland says:

    I LOVE Sherlock, I have only read one book, I find them difficult to understand too! I want to watch 13 Reasons Why and Big Little Lies too. Hope you enjoy watching the remaining tv shows!
    Here’s my STS

    Liked by 1 person

  5. La La in the Library says:

    I am going to the library on Saturday for their used book sale and I am going to borrow season three of Game Of Thrones on DVD and start watching again. I will read the books at some point, but I am waiting for the last book to come out first, ha ha. I am looking forward to the BBC’s His Dark Materials series. I am just finishing up the last book in the trilogy, The Amber Spyglass. I also want to see the new A Wrinkle in Time. I don’t know if it is already out, or who is airing it, though. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

