Caraval, a Cat, and Cinderella

This post is linked up with  The Sunday PostThe Saturday Situation, and Stacking the Shelves.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-37-14-pm

Thanks to the nine hour flight to and from London, I was able to get some books read on my Spring Break vacation. To see photos from my trip click HERE.  My favorite book was a surprise.  If you have read my blog before, you know I am a huge dog lover so the fact that I adored this cat book was shocking.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

 

bob

Goodreads Blurb

When James Bowen found an injured, ginger street cat curled up in the hallway of his sheltered accommodation, he had no idea just how much his life was about to change. James was living hand to mouth on the streets of London and the last thing he needed was a pet. Yet James couldn’t resist helping the strikingly intelligent tom cat, whom he quickly christened Bob. He slowly nursed Bob back to health and then sent the cat on his way, imagining he would never see him again. But Bob had other ideas.

My Thoughts

This was so much more than a book about a guy rescuing a cat.  It was more about the cat rescuing a guy.  James was a recovering heroin addict and trying to make it by playing music in the tube stations of London.  James only had to think about himself until Bob came into the picture.  That is the wonderful thing about animals and pets, they rely on you and give you purpose.  James discovered this over and over. What happens in James’ life after meeting Bob is just short of miraculous.    There is a sequel to this book which I plan on reading soon.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-12-pm

caraval

Goodreads Blurb

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. Nevertheless she becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic. And whether Caraval is real or not, Scarlett must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over or a dangerous domino effect of consequences will be set off, and her beloved sister will disappear forever.

My Thoughts

This was a fun read that was a mix of The Hunger Games and Harry Potter with maybe a little Game of Thrones mixed in. The world and the game the author creates is rich and colorful and I definitely felt like I was there.  I loved the concept of this book but the main character, Scarlett annoyed me a bit.  She seemed whiny and weak. However, with that said, and not giving away too much of the story, I think that the point of this book and the game she plays is to make her strong.  There is a sequel to this book, which I will read in the hopes that Scarlett has grown as a character.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-21-pm

geekerella

This was a fun retelling of Cinderella. It was well written and my favorite part was the main character has an obsession with a tv show and finds other like her to help cope with the death of her father. Unfortunately, her step mother thinks it is a waste of time. This reminds me of my crazy obsession for Harry Potter. “It taught me a lot of things. Like about friendship and loyalty, and how to think critically and look for all sides of a narrative…” This can apply to any fandom out there. We can find people who share our passions and form long lasting friendships. This was a creative story. I mean, the “pumpkin” for this Cinderella story is a food truck! I highly recommend this believable retelling of a classic fairy tale.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-40-pm

11 thoughts on “Caraval, a Cat, and Cinderella

  1. Greg Hill says:

    That street cat book does look adorable, I’ve seen those around somewhere. And glad you had a great trip! How fun. Loved the pics- especially of Dover and Tower Bridge. I need to get to the UK someday.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

