New book reviews-Tell Me Tuesday

1aa25-photostudio_1470712744947

Tell Me Tuesday is a weekly feature put on by La La in the Library. It is where we discuss our latest reads.  Be sure to check them out!

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-36-47-pm

My Latest Reads

ove.jpg

screenshot-2017-02-04-at-10-33-24-am

This was such a funny and quirky read. It took me a few chapters to understand the dry and sarcastic humor. There were many times I laughed out loud which is rare for me when I read books. There were also some sad and heart breaking moments. Ove wants to kill himself, which I know sounds terrible and depressing. However, every time he tries, he is interrupted by the new family that moves in next door. This frustrates Ove greatly!  This story really made me think about problems of the elderly and those that live alone. I highly recommend this book and look forward to watching the movie that is based on this book.

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-33-58-pm

roanoke

“I dream of the Roanoke girls, lost and broken. Staring eyes and crumpled bodies. Jane. Sophia. Penelope. Eleanor. Camille. Emmeline. Allegra. They are calling for me, begging me to help them. I search and search, but never find a single one.” This book fascinated me and I couldn’t stop turning pages or should I say swiping the screen? It is about Lane Roanoke, who has to go live with her Grandparents. Her cousin, Allegra, also lives there. It is uncanny how much they look alike. But Lane doesn’t have time to try and figure that mystery out because she is fighting her own demons. Her mom committed suicide and just like the other Roanoke girls who have died, there seems to have been a dark secret as to the reason why. “Sometimes it’s a revelation, even to me, how much more comfortable I am with cruelty than with kindness. ” Allegra mysteriously goes missing, just like all the other Roanoke girls. As Lane tries to uncover where Allegra could have gone, she also uncovers disturbing family secrets. The author created wonderful characters that you can’t help love and hate at the same time. The writing was beautiful and lyrical. “I’m not running. I know running doesn’t get you anywhere. You can’t outrun what’s inside of you. You can only acknowledge it, work around it, try to turn it into something better.” Each Roanoke girl’s story is told throughout the book to help give clues as to how and why Allegra is gone. I highly recommend this mystery thriller.
screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-12-pm

Currently Reading

listofccages

Goodreads Book Blurb

Adam is ecstatic to be reunited with the foster brother he hasn’t seen in five years. At first, Julian seems like the boy he once knew. He’s still kindhearted. He still writes stories and loves picture books meant for little kids. But as they spend more time together, Adam realizes that Julian is keeping secrets, like where he hides during the middle of the day, and what’s really going on inside his house. Adam is determined to help him, but his involvement could cost both boys their lives.
screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-34-21-pm

My Next Read

screenshot-2017-01-16-at-6-34-33-pm

I have no idea what I am going to read next.  Too many choices!!!!

screenshot-2017-01-23-at-7-37-14-pm

Have A Great Week Reading What Makes YOU Happy!

4 thoughts on “New book reviews-Tell Me Tuesday

Leave a Reply

