A DOG BLOG and MORE

This post is linked up with The Sunday PostStacking the Shelves, and Saturday Situation. Be sure to check out their latest reads and reviews.

screenshot-2017-01-11-at-6-37-50-pm

FIVE STARS!

screenshot-2017-01-21-at-11-23-15-am

Goodreads Summary

When young lawyer Lily marries Ed, she’s determined to make a fresh start. To leave the secrets of the past behind. But then she takes on her first murder case and meets Joe. A convicted murderer whom Lily is strangely drawn to. For whom she will soon be willing to risk almost anything.
But Lily is not the only one with secrets. Her next-door neighbor Carla may be only nine, but she has already learned that secrets are powerful things. That they can get her whatever she wants.
When Lily finds Carla on her doorstep sixteen years later, a chain of events is set in motion that can end only one way.

My Reveiw

A fabulous thriller that kept me guessing from beginning to end. The book starts off with a murder and then jumps back fifteen years where we read about the characters and the events leading up to the murder. The author has so many layers of plot twists and character development that I just couldn’t put this book down. I liked the two points of view, Lily and Carla. Each one has such a rich background story that unfolds and intertwines throughout the book. They aren’t always the most likable people but that is the driving force behind their actions that make this murder mystery so good.

***********************

Screenshot 2017-01-21 at 11.35.16 AM.png

If  you haven’t already guessed from previous blog posts, I am a huge animal lover, especially dogs.  I tend to read a lot of books about dogs.  Usually the dog books I read are nonfiction but I thought I would give these fiction books a try and I am so happy I did. I took pictures of my dogs with each of the books.  Enjoy!  (Feel free to follow me on Instagram for other fun book photos. Click HERE! )

A Dog’s Purpose

Screenshot 2017-01-21 at 11.31.17 AM.png

My Review

A Dog’s Purpose pulls at your heartstrings and tickles your funny bone.  I was not expecting the book to be so funny but since the story is told from the perspective of a dog, there are bound to be some amusing moments. “I went out into the yard and dug Smokey back up, figuring they couldn’t have meant to bury a perfectly good dead cat.” The dog always talks about the wonderful smells of garbage and the wonderful water bowl that sometimes he can’t drink from since the lid is sometimes shut on it.  Of course there are sad parts since the dog dies several times in the book because he is reincarnated as a puppy throughout the story.  In each life, the dog is trying to figure out his purpose.  Sometimes it is to save people, other times to love his owner.  But the dog never forgets his boy, Ethan. “My purpose, my whole life, had been to love him and be with him, to make him happy.”

A Dog’s Journey

Screenshot 2017-01-21 at 11.32.05 AM.png

My Review

This was a great sequel to the first book.  It starts right where A Dog’s Purpose left off.  The dog, now named Buddy, is looking after Ethan’s grand daughter, CJ.  He is reborn several times throughout CJ’s life and is there to help her through some terrible times including an eating disorder and suicide attempt.  Like the first book, the story is told from the dog’s point of view and is very funny at times.  I liked the references from the first book and how the lives of CJ and Ethan are intertwined with Buddy’s purpose.

4 thoughts on “A DOG BLOG and MORE

  1. Laura E Agnella says:

    Enjoy your reading! Your books look great but I can’t read any books where dogs or cats die. I just can’t. I know I’m missing out on some great books but it has always been something I have a hard time with. I do however, also do a lot of dog/cat posts on my social media. Animals make us so happy.
    Have a great week!
    Laura 🙂
    My Stacking the Shelves

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

