The Amateurs and Tim Burton

This post is linked with Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It is a weekly feature discussing what books we are stacking our shelves with.

screenshot-2016-10-17-at-7-25-08-pm

I received this book from NetGalley.  I love a good mystery book and was excited to get my hands on this one.  Helena disappeared from her backyard and weeks later her body was found three counties away.  That was five years ago but her sister, Aerin, still wants to find Helena’s killer. The case is unsolved.  Aerin seeks help on a website called Case Not Closed.  Several teens agree to help her.  They meet up and start looking for clues.  There were lots of twists and surprises but also too many coincidences.  Parts of the book seemed to drag and there were some cliche moments.  Can we not have a love triangle please?  I admit I didn’t guess the ending.  It left the story open for more books.

Screenshot 2016-10-20 at 6.08.12 PM.png

This was the perfect read right before Halloween.  It makes me want to watch the movie which I haven’t watched in years.  This wasn’t the entire story, just the beginning.  I assume there will be more books to finish the story.  Manga books are usually a series.  The drawings are amazing.  I wish they were in color though.  If you are a fan of the movie, I highly recommend the book.

Currently Reading

I will be doing an author interview with Maria Goodavage next week!  Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “The Amateurs and Tim Burton

Leave a Reply

