Replica by Lauren Oliver

Today I am linked up with Stacking the Shelves and Saturday Situation. Check out these amazing blogs too.

This week marks my 6th month blogiversary! It doesn’t seem possible that I have been blogging for half a year already.

Back in May, I went to BEA in Chicago.  It was my first time going and it was a bit overwhelming.  However, I did have a good time and met some of my favorite authors.  Lauren Oliver was one of those authors.  She was signing and handing out an ARC of her latest book, Replica. 

First of all this is such a unique book. It is basically two books in one.  There is Gemma’s story and Lyra’s story.  It is set up in a way that you can read each story by itself or you can read from Gemma’s perspective then flip the book over and read from Lyra’s perspective. Since I have read a couple books lately from multiple points of view, I decided to read each story individually.  I started with Gemma.  Gemma is an only child of wealthy parents.  Her father used to own a pharmaceutical company.  For some mysterious reason, he doesn’t own it anymore.  This leads Gemma to dig further and discover a place called Haven which is in Florida.  Gemma meets Jake in Florida.  He is trying to discover what is going on at Haven.  There are lots of rumors from aliens to monsters.  Lyra is from Haven.  It is all she remembers.  Her life has been nothing but doctor’s, nurses, and medical tests.  She is a replica or also known as a clone.  Gemma and Lyra accidentally run into each other. Lyra discovers that Gemma looks just like her friend Cassiopeia from Haven.  Is Gemma a replica too?  Ms. Oliver does a great job of meshing the two stories together.  I preferred Gemma’s story because it seemed more important to the plot and fleshed out.  Lyra’s perspective is nice to have so we can get an idea of the life she had in Haven. This was a great Sci-Fi book.  Parts of it to me were a bit disturbing. When Lyra describes how the doctors and nurses treat them and call them “it” instead of giving them names, broke my heart.  The replicas are considered science experiments and not considered humans. This book ends with a bit of a cliffhanger.  I look forward to the sequel.

Currently Reading

savinghamlet

Here are 3 books I can’t wait to get started on!

It has been an exciting week for me in the blogger universe.  I was approved by Net Galley for Roseblood by A.G. Howard. I love Phantom of the Opera.  I have seen the musical (three times), watched the movie(too many times to count), read the book (twice) , and been to the actual Opera House (once) in Paris.  When I was approved, I tweeted the author my excitement and she answered me with a lovely and lengthy message back.  roseblood

Then a couple days later, I tweeted my author friend, Maria Goodavage because I noticed she has a new book out at the end of this month.  She writes amazing books on military service dogs.  I told her I was excited for her new book called Secret Service Dogs: The Heroes Who Protect the President of the United States.  Next thing I know, she emailed her publisher, and I am getting an advanced copy to read and then feature on my blog! So stay tuned for that in a few weeks. service-dogs

Literally, a few hours later I got an email saying I had won a book from Read It Forward that I had won a book.  It is Margaret Atwood’s newest book which is awesome because she is coming to my hometown in a few weeks.  I have never read any of her books so I am excited to start with this one. margaretI am starting to feel a bit overwhelmed because I have been approved for several books from Net Galley.  I hardly ever got approved and now it seems like I am always approved.  It is a GREAT problem to have! I look forward to a full fall season of reading.

WHAT BOOKS ARE YOU WAITING ON?

9 thoughts on “Replica by Lauren Oliver

  1. Greg Hill says:

    Congrats to you on 6 mos! And all the Netgalley fun too. 🙂 I’m just starting Replica and I have to say I’m pretty excited for it. Hope your new books are great!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. La La in the Library says:

    Yay for six months of blogging! Congratulations. I really wanted to put Of Shattered Minds, the last book in the Of Breakable Things trilogy, on my WOW this week, but even though it comes out in November it still has no cover! Hopfully there will be one by my November WOW. I read The Heart Goes Last by Atwood snd didn’t like it, but neither did her fans it seems, so I am still going to read A Handmaid’ sTale when I get the chance. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

