End of Summer reviews #VASRP wrap up

tmtTell Me Tuesday is put on weekly by the Uh-mazing La La in the Library . TMT is where we talk about what we have been reading so tell us!

Saturday Situation is put on by Candace’s Book Blog . stackingStacking the Shelves is put on by Tynga’s Reviews and Thsundaye Sunday Post is put on by 
The Caffeinated Book Reviewer
 .  These are ALL amazing blogs that talk about our weekly reads.  Be sure to check out what we have been reading this week.

VASRP-theheartofabookbloggerBack in June I signed up for Read Sleep Repeat and He Said Books or Me‘s Virtual Adult Summer Reading Program (VASRP) challenge.  I set a goal to read 17-24 books from June 1st through September 5th.  I am happy to say I read 24 books!!! This was such a fun challenge and I look forward to next summer’s challenge.

 

screenshot-2016-09-08-at-8-18-19-pmExciting News!!! I will be doing another author interview with Jo Knowles.  She is the author of Read Between The Lines, Living With Jackie Chan, See You At Harry’s, Pearl, Jumping Off Swings, and Lessons From A Dead Girl. I will be talking with her about her latest book that came out last month, Still A Work In Progress.  Check out her author profile HERE on Goodreads.

 

Without further ado, reviews from this week.

 

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness  5 stars out of 5

screenshot-2016-09-08-at-8-08-05-pm“Stories are wild creatures, the monster said.  When you let them loose, who knows what havoc they might wreak?” I saw the preview for this movie and of course had to read the book first.  There may be some spoilery type comments here so I caution you if you continue reading.  “You know that your truth, the one that you hide…is the thing you are most afraid of.”  This is what the old yew tree outside Conor O’Malley’s window tells him in his sleep.  Conor has been having a rough time lately; his mom is sick so his grandma comes to visit, his friend Lily told the whole school his mom has cancer, and he is being bullied at school by Harry and his lackeys.  Worst of all, he has the same nightmare every night.  This book is so beautifully written(and illustrated) and explores how we deal with grief, denial, and our fear of being invisible to the world.  The author captures how  accurately we sometimes deny our fear of the truths we don’t want to face.  This story convicted me  about how I tend to talk to people that are dealing with loved ones who are dying.  Sometimes, it is uncomfortable to talk about it so I error on not talking about it which I believe is worse for the person dealing with it.  I absolutely loved this book and can’t wait to see the movie in a few months.  Check out the trailer below.

Movie Trailer for A Monster Calls

Wrecked by Maria Padian 3.5 stars out of 5

screenshot-2016-09-08-at-8-09-39-pmThis was my first NA book and I enjoyed it very much.  Even though some of the content can be hard to read, it is so important. The book is told from two points of view, Haley and Richard.  Jenny comes home from a party where she was raped.  Her roommate, Haley, tries to help her deal with the aftermath. Jordan brags to his roommate, Richard, about how he hooked up with Jenny.  Haley and Richard meet and instantly like each other not realizing they are both indirectly involved with the rape incident.  Throughout the book, Jenny struggles with reporting the crime.  It is heart breaking to read how devastated she is and how she feels no one believes her.  Things only get worse when she reports her attacker to the Dean.  Students start calling her names on social media and to her face.  I gave this book 3.5 stars because the story got a bit long and dull in the middle; too much legal jargon made it boring at times. I did like the flashbacks sprinkled throughout the book that tells the story of Jenny going to the party where she met Jordan.  There are not many books out there on sexual assault. I highly recommend this one.

Drums of Autumn (Outlander 4) by Diana Gabaldon

IMG_7948I am still making my way through this gigantic book!  It is a 1000 pages and I am almost half way.

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “End of Summer reviews #VASRP wrap up

  1. La La in the Library says:

    The length of that Outlander book still kills me! I have to finish reading A Monster Calls. I was reading it for an anti-bullying read-a-thon and it was my last book, so when the read-a-thon was over I stoped reading because of an avalanche of ARCs.You did super amazing for VASRP! I managed I6 books, which should have been higher because I was on vacation. Ha ha. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Greg Hill says:

    So that’s what VASRP is! I saw that on Twitter and I was clueless lol. And congrats on the author interview! Wow 1000 pages- Gabaldon knows how to write em huh? I’ve heard those are pretty great reads though.

    Have a super week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

