Kids of Appetite and The Trees Crept In

 kidsofappetite

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold 5 stars out of 5

LOVED, LOVED, LOVED, THIS BOOK!!!! David Arnold has done it again! He is two for two in writing amazing, brilliant, thought provoking books. The main characters in this book are phenomenal. Each one is so fleshed out and real that you can’t help but love every one of them.  The main character, Vic, has a neurological disorder that causes paralysis of the facial muscles so he is bullied and stared at a lot.  His father has died of cancer and his mom has seemed to forgotten about his dad.  Vic runs away taking his dad’s ashes with him.  He finds a homeless group of teens and they take him in.  Vic discovers a list in the urn of ashes that gives clues as to different places where his dad wanted his ashes spread.  This is just a small part of the story.  Mr. Arnold does a wonderful job weaving all of the teens’ problems and back stories together into a book that I just couldn’t put down.  There is love, murder, abuse, bullying, friendship, grief, and so much more! There are many references to S.E. Hinton’s The Outsiders which I found refreshing. One of my favorite parts of the book was the relationship Vic had with his dad.  His dad was the one who understood him and his disability and helped Vic deal with it the best.  “I spent years being upset, bitter about my differences.  When I looked in the mirror, I saw only the abstract.  There was no splendor to be found.  I did not understand how to find the advantages of my disadvantages.  I did not see the beauty simmering underneath.  Not yet.  But Dad did.”  I find this quote great for any disability or flaw we see in ourselves.  Kids of Appetite has so many of these amazing insights throughout its pages.  Like Mr. Arnold’s first book, Mosquitoland, I didn’t want this book to end! It was so “Frakkin” good! I guess a re-read is in order soon.

I dusted off my Instagram account a couple months ago and have been trying my hand at doing Bookstagrams.  I think they are so fun. I used the next book in my latest bookstagram.  To see others check them out HERE!

trees

And The Trees Crept In by Dawn Kurtagich 4 stars out of 5

I don’t read thriller books or mysteries very often so this was out of the norm for me and I really enjoyed it.   I am not going to go into too much of a review because I don’t want to give away what happens.   This book kept me guessing until the very end.  I had no idea what was going on (in a good way)! Also, there were parts so creepy that I got goosebumps so that is an extra bonus. The author’s writing style was very unique. For example, there were different points of view, journal entries, and poems throughout the book to keep me engaged and trying to look for clues.

GOODREADS SUMMARY OF AND THE TREES CREPT IN

When Silla and Nori arrive at their aunt’s home, it’s immediately clear that the “blood manor” is cursed. The creaking of the house and the stillness of the woods surrounding them would be enough of a sign, but there are secrets too–the questions that Silla can’t ignore: Who is the beautiful boy that’s appeared from the woods? Who is the man that her little sister sees, but no one else? And why does it seem that, ever since they arrived, the trees have been creeping closer?

drums

I started book 4 in the Outlander series. It is called Drums of Autumn.  Normally, I read the Outlander books on my Kindle but one day I was looking through a pile of free books and saw Drums of Autumn. I almost didn’t recognize it as an Outlander book because it is a first edition! Check out this cool cover. So I have been reading this one book style. It is huge, 1000+ pages.

8 thoughts on “Kids of Appetite and The Trees Crept In

  1. Greg says:

    And The Trees crept In sounds fun and creepy! The trees moving closer- that would freak you out. I’ve been seeing that one around and I’m very curious. and Kids of Appetite is not one I would have noticed probably but your description sounds very intriguing- looks like a nice read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

