The Light Fantastic, War Dogs, Outlander, and Challenges Update

Tell Me Tuesday is put on by La La in the Library . Tell us what you have been reading lately.

The Sunday post is put on by The Caffeinated Book Reviewer  Stacking the Shelves is  put on by Tynga’s Reviews and Saturday Situation is put on by Candace’s Book Blog. This is where we share what we have been reading this week. Be sure to check out these awesome blogs !!

light.jpg

The Light Fantastic by Sarah Combs 3.5 stars out of 5

 This book had a lot of points of view which for me made the book hard to follow at times.  I would have to go back and remember what had happened with that character earlier.  That gets annoying especially with an ebook.  The book centers around April Donovan, a teenage girl , who has a rare memory condition that allows her to recount all the tragedies that have happened in the month of April.  Interwoven into the story are characters she has met or known at one time. On the morning of her 18th birthday something big is being planned across the nation. Teenagers across the U.S. are planning school shootings.  I was not a big fan of this concept but the story does explore the motives of these bullied and stressed out teens and alternatives to dealing with stress in other ways than violence.  I think those were my favorite parts of the book, the teens having that epiphany moment of I can deal with this problem in a positive way.

wardogs.jpg

War Dogs: Tales of Canine Heroism, History, and Love by Rebecca Frankel 4 stars out of 5

I really enjoyed this book. I have read similar books on K9 soldier dogs.  It never ceases to surprise me how intelligent and hard working these dogs are and how many lives they save everyday.  So much training goes into these dogs.  Handlers spend hours and hours training, living with, and working patrols with their dogs. The bonds that develop between the dog and the handler were so great to read about.  The trust that each one has to have for each other is amazing.   If you are a dog lover I highly recommend this book

 voyager

Voyager by Diana Gabaldon 5 stars out of 5

I finished the third Outlander book this week and I do believe it was my favorite so far! Yes, there are impossible to believe things that happen sometimes but the writing is so fabulous that it doesn’t matter. I just love Claire and Jamie’s story and learning about Europe and other countries in the 18th century. Very excited to start book four soon.

Challenges Update

At the beginning of the year, I pledged on Goodreads that I would read 100 books this year.  I am happy to say I am 4 books ahead of schedule.

I signed up for a couple challenges this summer.  The first one was #VASRP and the second was #ARCAugust.  Both of the challenges are put on by Read Sleep Repeat

arc

For the #VASRP challenge, I made the goal of reading 17-24  books this summer.  I am happy to say I finished my 17th book this week!  I hope to get to 25 by the end of the challenge.

VASRP-theheartofabookblogger

For the #ARCAugust challenge I have read 5 ARCs.  I didn’t set a numerical goal, just a goal of reading as many ARCs  in August as I possibly can.

 

HAVE A GREAT WEEK READING WHAT MAKES YOU HAPPY!!!

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Light Fantastic, War Dogs, Outlander, and Challenges Update

  1. Greg says:

    War Dogs sounds fabulous, those dogs and their handlers sometimes do forge an amazing bond and I bet that book is very inspiring. The Light Fantastic looks like it might be challenging but interesting as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

