Harry Potter and The Cursed Child Review

tmtTELL ME TUESDAY!!!

Tell Me Tuesday is a weekly blog post put on by La La in the Library where we discuss the books we have been reading this week.  Be sure to check out her blog and tell us what you have been reading!

 Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

4 stars out of 5

cursedchild

This review contains SPOILERS!!! I am pretty sure this is the first time I gave a book with J.K. Rowling’s name on it 4 stars.  And let’s be honest it is because she didn’t write all of it.  I knew going in that this was NOT a novel but a script and that two other people helped her write it.  But I of course wanted to know more of Harry’s story so I bought it and I am glad for the most part that I did.  I do believe, though I don’t have proof, that the idea of the this story is Rowling’s.  It is brilliant.  The time turner and going back to book four when Harry is competing in the Tri-Wizard tournament is genius. It was fun to read about old and familiar characters and revisit the magic of Hogwarts.  My favorite parts of the book were with Harry’s son Albus and Malfoy’s son Scorpius.  Albus and Scorpius become fast friends on the train to Hogwarts.  They share the same curse, an infamous last name.  This in part makes them to want to prove themselves and leads to the adventure with the time turner.  With the help of Delphi, a girl they meet, they decide to go back in time with a recently found time turner they stole.  Their mission is to save Cedric Diggory from dying in the Tri-Wizard tournament. After repeated attempts, things get really messed up.  They have altered time so that at one point Harry Potter is dead and Voldemort is still alive! There is a couple plot twists and a HUGE reveal of who Delphi really is.  I enjoyed this book but my favorite parts were with the new generation of students at Hogwarts, Harry, Ron, Hermione, and Draco’s kids.  I would have liked more of them and less of the original trio.  I also think this story will be so much better as it was meant to be experienced, as a play.  I look forward to when it comes to the U.S. from London.

I buddy read The Cursed Child with my blogger friend La La in the Library  We interviewed each other after reading it. I will post that next week.

 

voyager

OUTLANDER UPDATE: I finished book two and started book 3, Voyager. I do believe it is my favorite so far.

My friend T.L. Coulter has a new book coming out August 14th. She revealed the cover today and it is beautiful! Check it out below.  Feel free to follow her on Twitter at @tlc2255

BGA TL Ecover

Summary of the book:

Ten years ago, a chance meeting on a plane brought two people together who could not deny the instant connection. A whirlwind romance whispered promises of forever. However, when one of them is forced to make a choice between responsibility and love, the choice made drives them apart. Years later, the summer spent together under the stars still burns deep within them

To the public eye, it seems that bestselling author Kendra Monroe has everything going for her. Not only are her novels doing well, but she’s just been offered a movie deal for her latest work. What the public doesn’t know is that, every day, she fights a losing battle with her heart. Every man she meets can’t compare to “him”, until she meets Duke Winston.

Will Duke finally be the man to help Kendra forget about “him”, or will she be haunted forever by memories of a long-lost love that won’t let her go?

Black & Green, Always…

It is August! I have joined Read Sleep Repeat in the ARC August challenge.  This basically means during the month of August I read and review as many ARCs (Advance Reading Copy) as I can.  I am currently reading spontaneousSpontaneous by Aaron Starmer. It started out amazing and has kind of gotten tiresome in the middle.  I do plan to finish it though. Review to come next week.

VASRP-theheartofabookbloggerValerie at He Said Books or Me and Octavia at Read Sleep Repeat  are doing the VASRP (Virtual Adult Summer Reading Program) challenge.  My goal is to read 17-24 books between June 20th and September 5th.  I am at 12 so I am confident I will meet my goal.

 

HAVE A GREAT WEEK!

12 thoughts on “Harry Potter and The Cursed Child Review

  1. La La in the Library says:

    Well that surprised me! I thought for sure you were going to give TCC less than three stars. Ha ha. Yay! I am way behind with my VASRP. I said 25 books. I think I have read six? Maybe seven? I will be lucky to make 17. 😄

    Like

  2. Christina T @ Reading Extensively says:

    I just got a copy of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child from the library. I already know what happens because I read reviews on purpose after seeing all the negative ratings to help me decide if I wanted to give the book a chance. I am glad you liked it. I am not sure if I will. I am eager to read about Albus and Scorpius. I kind of wish the whole time travel element wasn’t used and they came up with an original story for the new generation instead. Oh, well. Maybe J.K. Rowling will write more short stories about these characters (that wouldn’t renege her decision to not write more books about Harry Potter). Nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Suzanne (Chick with Books) says:

    Great review! I’m not sold on the “script” yet, but will probably end up reading it. I love Harry Potter and the books, but would have prefered a story written by her as the book instead. The play is suppose to be amazing and probably, as you say, the way to enjoy this latest offering.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Greg says:

    I’ve heard a lot of good things about the Outlander books, and I love the titles- so evocative. Black and Green, Always does have a nice cover! And I hope Spontaneous picks up towards the end.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

