A Dog Blog

1aa25-photostudio_1470712744947

Tell Me Tuesday is a weekly blog post put on by LaLa in the Library where we discuss what we have been reading. What have you been reading?

 dogtripping

Last weekend I drove a couple hours to see David Rosenfelt.  He is most famous for writing his Andy Carpenter mystery books.  I have not read one of those books.  However, I did stumble across his book Dogtripping about a year ago.  It is the true story of how he and 25 dogs, 11 volunteers, and 3 RV’s made a week long cross country trek from California to Maine.  As you can imagine this was a huge challenge and undertaking. This book was hilarious, sad, and very informative about adopting senior dogs. The author wrote like he was just having a conversation with the reader which I enjoyed. His humor was refreshing and I at times would literally laugh out loud. Of course with any book that involves dog rescues, there is going to be some sad parts.

I really enjoyed meeting him and hearing him talk about all of his books.  Mr. Rosenfelt was just as funny in person and I loved that he only came to cities that the price of admission went to a dog rescue organization.

IMG_7747

 

Outlander Update!!!

outlander 2

I finished book two and it was unbelievable! The book did have more political strategy than the first book so I am afraid to say that sometimes I would skim past those parts. I look forward to starting the third book this week.

 

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

cursedchild

I am also VERY VERY VERY excited to start this book on the 31st.  I will be reading/blogging about it with my friend La La in the Library

smallerevil.jpg

Book Review: The Smaller Evil by Stephanie Kuehn 3 stars (barely) out of 5

 

I recieved an advanced ebook copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

 I just didn’t GET this book.  Was it a metaphor for something? Life? Trust? Love? Like the main character, Arman, I didn’t know what was going on half of the time! From other reviews I have read I am not the only one who feels this way which makes me feel a little bit better.  With that said, the book is well written and the author is very talented.  I just wish I had understood what I had read. Below is the Goodreads summary of the book.

17-year-old Arman Dukoff is struggling with severe anxiety and a history of self-loathing when he arrives at an expensive self-help retreat in the remote hills of Big Sur. He’s taken a huge risk—and two-thousand dollars from his meth-head stepfather—for a chance to “evolve,” as Beau, the retreat leader, says.

Beau is complicated. A father figure? A cult leader? A con man? Arman’s not sure, but more than anyone he’s ever met, Beau makes Arman feel something other than what he usually feels—worthless.

The retreat compound is secluded in coastal California mountains among towering redwoods, and when the iron gates close behind him, Arman believes for a moment that he can get better. But the program is a blur of jargon, bizarre rituals, and incomprehensible encounters with a beautiful girl. Arman is certain he’s failing everything. But Beau disagrees; he thinks Arman has a bright future—though he never says at what.

And then, in an instant Arman can’t believe or totally recall, Beau is gone. Suicide? Or murder? Arman was the only witness and now the compound is getting tense. And maybe dangerous.

As the mysteries and paradoxes multiply and the hints become accusations, Arman must rely on the person he’s always trusted the least: himself.

 

3 thoughts on “A Dog Blog

  1. La La in the Library says:

    I used to watch the reality show where they shipped dogs around the country for adoption. I loved that show! I was supposed to get sent an ARC of The Smaller Evil and your mention of it made me realize that I never got it. I will send you a DM about doing a Saturday Evening Conversations about The Cursed Child. Thanks for TMTing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

