When We Collided by Emery Lord

1aa25-photostudio_1470712744947

Tell Me Tuesday is a weekly feature put on by La La in the Library  where we talk about the books we are reading and the books we look forward to reading soon!

cursedchild

La La and I will be reading Harry Potter and the Cursed Child together starting next week!

Stacking the Shelves and The Sunday Post are weekly posts put on by  tyngasreviews.com

and The sundayCaffeinated Book Reviewer  Join us instacking talking about what we have been reading!

 whenwecollided.jpg

When We Collided by Emery Lord 4 stars out of 5

This book was an amazing read! I enjoyed the author’s fabulous imagery and descriptions of all the characters and the small town they inhabit. The story is told from two points of view, Jonah and Vivi. Jonah’s father died about a year ago and his mom doesn’t come out of her room so he is responsible for helping take care of his three younger siblings along with working at his dad’s restaurant. Vivi just moved to the small town of Verona Cove, CA from Seattle. She starts everyday by throwing one of her pills into the ocean. Vivi’s mom is an artist and she has no idea about her dad. Jonah and Vivi meet and instantly become friends. Vivi’s upbeat personality and spontaneity is just what Jonah needs to help break up the monotony and stress of his life. “Jonah is a truly beautiful boy, that gorgeous hair and olive skin and strong arms from carrying groceries and his little sister. He has those deep dark eyes that show he carries a lot of heavy things inside himself, too.”-Vivi
As the story progresses, the effects of Vivi not taking her medicine starts to show. She doesn’t eat or sleep and she is constantly sewing or working on a project. We discover that Vivi is bipolar. Also, through the story we see Jonah’s mom dealing with depression and grieving for her husband. Even though this book deals with these serious issues, the author does add humorous scenes and dialogue and you can’t help but root for everything to work out for Vivi and Jonah.
Depression, bipolar disorder, and any mental illness is different for everyone but the author makes sure to emphasize that it is important to talk to someone, anyone you trust.

orphantrains

Orphan Trains by Rebecca Langston-George

I did get a chance to read a small non-fiction book called Orphan Trains. It is for 9-12 year olds. This was a great read and interested me because many of the children in this book ended up in my home state of Iowa.  I never realized orphaned children from out East were put on trains and sent to families in the Midwest.  I like that there were different types of stories about the children. Some of them were sad and heartbreaking but some had very happy endings.

outlander 2

I am still reading the second Outlander book, Dragonfly in Amber.  I am almost half done and really enjoying it. I finished watching the first season of the Outlander tv series. I can’t wait to watch the second season when I am finished with the second book.

 

 

7 thoughts on “When We Collided by Emery Lord

  1. La La in the Library says:

    Awwwwwwwwwww… Bella! I want to squishy hug her. I love it when authors write books about mental illnesses and the feel to it is not everyone is going to be the same. And making the point that they need to talk to someone is stellar. I am going to put it on my library-look-fors list. I do vaguely remember about the US orphan trains. I think people usually think of the UK when they think of orphan trains, so it is good to have a Middle Grade book about it. I am going to put it on my tbr. Thanks for the heads up. The #VASRP Twtter party was a loit of fun. I keep forgetting to check out the mini challenges, though. 😞 I will have to put some of them on my calendar. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

