The Crown’s Game and Memoirs of a Vampire

tmtTell Me Tuesday is a weekly post put on by LaLa in the Library  It is where we discuss what we have been reading lately.  Please check out her blog because frankly La La is just plain awesome.

 So for all of you following my Outlander addiction, I finished Outlander last week and started book two in the series, Dragonfly in Amber. I had to stop reading however because my library let me know that the first season of the Outlander tv series on DVD was waiting for me.  So I have been binge watching that in my free time.  The show is beautiful.  I love the scenery, the music, costumes, and the actors are amazing.

I did find time to read a couple fantasy books this week.

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye 4 stars out of 5

crownsgameI would describe this book as Harry Potter meets The Hunger Games.  A girl, Vika, and a boy, Nikolai, are enchanters (can perform magic) in Russia.  There is usually only one enchanter alive at a time but for some strange reason there are two.  Because there are two, the Tsar of Russia must decide which one he wants on his court so he decides to host The Crown’s Game.  Vika and Nikolai are forced to do magic against each other.  Their goal is to kill each other and impress the Tsar. They each have five turns to accomplish this.  If they don’t succeed in killing one another then the Tsar decides who wins at the end of the competition and the loser automatically dies.  The magic in this book is not quite like Harry Potter.  It is a bit more grand, imaginative, and beautiful. (Not that I don’t love the magic in HP, I do! It is just different.)  I loved the premise for this book and for the most part it works.  There were a few places where it got a bit dull and the love triangle aspect is a bit cliche.  There will be a sequel to this book.

The second book I read was written by an awesome lady I met on Twitter.  She self-publishes all of her books which I think is very admirable. I think it is very important to support authors like this.  They don’t make a lot of money, if any.  They simply write because they love to.  If you are interested in the book below here is the link on Amazon.  It is only $3.99 on Kindle! Purchase here! If you would like to read more about Ms. Coulter and her books click here!

Memoirs of a Vampire by T.L. Coulter 4 stars out of 5

vampireIt has been a long time since I have read a Vampire book so I was excited to read this one. First off, I really liked how this story was told. There is the present day story and then the journal entries from 100 years ago to present day. The main character, Karen, is physically abused by her husband and with the help of her friend, Melissa, leaves her husband secretly and move across the country. Melissa’s family has a house in Oregon that has been in the family for years. This is where the two friends first discover a journal that was left by one of Melissa’s ancestors. The writer of the journal, Allison, says she is a vampire and goes on to tell the story of how she became so. Her story is similar to Karen’s. Allison’s sister was abused and murdered by her husband. I loved how the two stories mirrored each other. Oh and by the way, Allison’s last entry was to Karen and Melissa the night they moved in! The story has more characters and plot twists but I don’t want to ruin it for you. I think one of my favorite lines from the book is in the dedication. Ms. Coulter writes, “I dedicate this book to all the women who have ever known abuse in their lives. No one should ever have to suffer in an abusive relationship. You are beautiful, your are strong, and you are so much more than they deserve.”

VASRP-theheartofabookbloggerI have finished 9 of my 17-24 book goal for VASRP put on by readsleeprepeat.org.  I am having a lot of fun with this challenge.  I love the mini challenges.  Last week’s was to reading something other than a book. I posted a picture of a postcard that I had recently purchased at an antique store.  I have quite a few of these postcard but this was one of my favorites.IMG_7662

I am looking forward to next week’s challenge.

 

 

 

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly post

by tyngasreviews.com and The Sunday Post is by the Caffeinated stackingBook Reviewer. It is where we discuss what we are reading! What are you reading?sunday

13 thoughts on “The Crown’s Game and Memoirs of a Vampire

  1. La La in the Library says:

    The vampire book sounds interesting! It is wonderful when you come across great self pubs. I love it because I never have to second guess what the author’s intentions are when it isn’t a big money making thing. The Crowns Game sounds good too, but I am afraid the “til death” challenge storylines are wearing thin with me just like the “royal court with assassins” theme, but I guess that’s what happens when reading tons of YA. That is probably why I loved The Raven Boys so much. Ha ha! Thanks for the reviews. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. katarguelles says:

    I’m a huge Outlander fan and I would love to reread the books if I had time. I love the show and you have to see how great season 2 was. I have The Crown’s Game and hope to read it soon. I hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. amroske says:

    I have all the Outlander books on my kindle. I have started the first one, but haven’t been able to finish it…Why am I the only one on this planet that can’t!

    Like

    • jolenewilsonblog says:

      I have them on my kindle too but I am randomly finding them at used book stores. They are loooong aren’t they. I admit that sometimes I have to skim here and there cause it is a bit dull at times but for the most part I love the story between Jamie and Claire. Have you seen the tv show?

      Like

Leave a Reply

