Review: The Memory Book and Outlander

tmtTell Me Tuesday!

Tell Me Tuesday is put on by La La in the Library It is where we talk about what we are reading, going to read, and have read. So tell me what you are reading!

The Sunday Post is put on by Kimberly sunday.jpgfrom TheCaffeinatedBookReviewer and
stackingStacking the Shelves is put on every week by tyngasreviews is where we talk about what we are reading, going to read, and have read.  Check out their links above.

I didn’t get as much reading done this week as I would have liked because Outlander sucked me in! I was only going to read it a few minutes here and there but before I knew it hours would pass and I would end up being sleep deprived the next day.

VASRP-theheartofabookbloggerI signed up for #VASRP (virtual adult summer reading program) put on by ReadSleepRepeat. My reading goal is to read at least 17-24 books by September 5th.  I have already read 7 but if I can’t control my Outlander problem then I may have some trouble meeting my goal.  Those books are long!

Mini challenge #3 was to read something other than a traditional book for example, a magazine, cereal box, graphic novel.  I love to find old postcards at antique stores and vintage junk shops.  Here is one of my latest finds.  It is from 1908 and written to a little boy.  The front of the postcard had a picture of two dogs.IMG_7662

Review: The Memory Book by Lara Avery 4.5 stars out of 5

memorybookI had received an ARC of this book at BookCon in Chicago this spring.  This book just came out in bookstores on July 5.

The concept of this book really intrigued me. The main character, Sammie, has a disease, Neimann Pick type C, that affects her mind and body. She is slowly starting to forget things and is desperately trying to fight it because she plans to go to college and law school in New York. To help herself remember things that she may forget in the future, which includes herself, her family, and her friends, she starts a journal to her future self. She writes in a journal, her memory book, about her family, friends, school, boyfriend, and the struggles that go along with those relationships. I looked up this disease to see if it was a real thing and unfortunately, it is. In fact, I think Neimann Pick disease is worse in real life than described in the book which makes sense since the story is fictional and needed to be compressed for book purposes. However, Ms. Avery does a phenomenal job of showing us through the story (Sammie’s journal) how Sammie begins to deteriorate. Her future is so promising and she starts to realize it probably won’t happen. It is heartbreaking to read and share in Sammie’s realization of this. The Memory Book book pulls at the heartstrings and definitely made me want to hug my kids more.

After I posted this review to Goodreads I got a reply from a mom whose daughter has Neimann Pick.  This is what she said,

“Yes, it is much worse in real life. My daughter has it. The deterioration and death d0esn’t come quickly. My daughter is 31 and has been deteriorating in front of our eyes for years. Please go to Chasethecure.net for more information. Also go to npcstories.tumblr.com to read the stories from real families who deal with NPC day in and day out.”

So if you are interested in this disease, click on those two links.

Outlander (book 1) by Diana Gabaldon 5 stars out of 5

outlander1I am not really going to review this book but just talk about why I like it.  I think most people have heard of Outlander the book series or maybe the tv series.  I have not watched the tv series yet.  I have the first season on hold at my library since I don’t have the Starz cable channel anymore.  I had been hesitant to start this series because the books are gigantic and I am afraid it will cut into my reading time of other books I need to read. (refer to first paragraph of this blog post) However,  with Game of Thrones on hiatus, both the books and the show, I decided to see what all the hype was about.

I was immediately sucked in.  The author develops the setting and characters so richly.  I just completely got lost in this world she created.  If you like Game of Thrones than you may enjoy this series.  However, it is not as brutal as GoT and I think a bit easier to follow.

I plan to start book two in the series this week.  I really hope I DON’T finish it soon.

crownsgame

 

I started reading The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye.  I had heard a lot of hype about this book.  I am almost done and it is very good. The best way to describe this book is Harry Potter meets The Hunger Games.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Memory Book and Outlander

  1. La La in the Library says:

    Yay for the book challenge! I have gotten sucked in by Anne Of Green Gables, so I understand. I know I am going to want to start right in re-reading book two, but I can’t because there are so many other books I wanted to get to this summer. Watch out getting sleep deprived because you don’t want to mske yourself sick. My sister reads the Outlander books. I have no idea how many she has read though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

