Book Review: A World Without You by Beth Revis

1aa25-photostudio_1470712744947

Tell Me Tuesday!!! TMT is a weekly blog put on  by LaLa in the Library . It is where we talk about books we have read, are reading, and going to read.

 

Currently Reading

mexican

 

 Mexican Whiteboy by Matt de la Pena.  This author is coming to my local library later this month so I bought a couple of his more popular books to read.  I am enjoying this one so far.

 levithan

Going to read

I picked up You Know Me Well by Nina La Cour and David Levithan at the library.

world

I was excited to get an advanced copy of this book by Beth Revis.  I had met the author back in March when I went to SE-YA Fest (south east young adult festival) in Tennessee. Ms. Revis was on an author panel I went to and she was hilarious! I hadn’t read her previous books but I enjoyed how she related to the audience and the other authors on the panel. It definitely made me want to check out her books.  I am thrilled that I loved this book so much.  It comes out July 19th, 2016.

4.5 stars out of 5 for A World Without You by Beth Revis

I devoured this book. Never has a book kept me guessing the whole time at what was going on and I mean that in a good way. The main character, Bo, is seventeen and can go back in time. Because of these special abilities or powers he goes to Berkshire Academy, a school for kids just like him, kids with superpowers. Bo’s friends are, Harold, who talks to ghosts, Gwen, who makes fire with her hands, Sophia, who can turn invisible and, Ryan, who can manipulate minds. Bo’s world gets turned upside down when his classmate and girlfriend, Sophia, goes missing. Bo believes that she got stuck back in 1692 when they time traveled there and he is trying to get back to her and bring her to the present. However, the staff and students at Berkshire tell him that Sophia isn’t stuck back in time but instead she overdosed on her medication and that it was ruled a suicide. This makes Bo more determined to save Sophia. He goes back in time to try and warn her and leave her hints but it isn’t working and to make matters worse, everyone at his school and also his parents keep telling him that he is delusional and doesn’t have the power to go back in time. They tell Bo that the Berkshire Academy isn’t a school for kids with special abilities but for kids that have mental problems. Bo doesn’t believe any of them because he thinks Ryan is manipulating their minds to make the school look normal so it won’t close due to Sophia’s suicide. There is so much more woven into the story that makes you question if Bo is just seeing things in his head or if he does have time travel powers. At one point he even figures out how to go into the future which will really make you question things when you read the last chapter of the book. Like I said, I was still uncertain until the last page of the book and to be honest I am still not sure but I think that is the point. This book touches a bit on mental health issues in teens mostly through comparison and metaphor. The author does a good job explaining the different mental problems that way, for example, Harold’s talking to ghosts is most likely schizophrenia. I think this book is important for people to read to understand the grip that mental problems have on people and what a struggle it can be to face reality.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Book Review: A World Without You by Beth Revis

  1. La La in the Library says:

    I loved the Across the Universe books! They were the first YA books I read that I knew were YA. The first one was in the first batch of books my sister brought me from the library after my break-up, when she decided to become my personal book shopper, ha ha. I read The Body Electric that came out last year and it was a flop for me, so I had not been on the lookout for any new books from her. This one sounds perfect for readers who love superhero type stories. Thanks for the heads up that she has written another book!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Greg says:

    I’ve heard good things about the Across the Universe books and since it’s sci-fi I kinda want to read it. And I did just read a Nina LaCour short story in the Summer Days and Summer Nights anthology- I don’t know her writing other than that but it was a good story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

