Book to Movie blog and more!

Tell Me Tuesday!

TMT is a weekly post hosted by LaLa in the Library! It is where we talk about what we are reading, what we have read, and what we are reading next. Please check her blog out at La La in the Library

outliers

Book Review: 4 out of 5 stars

I just finished The Outliers by Kimberly McCreight! What a suspenseful and fast pace book.  From chapter one it takes off.  The author does a great job filling in the story line along the way through flashbacks.  Each character introduced to the story makes you suspicious and in the end you realize no one can be trusted! I haven’t read a thriller in a long time but I enjoyed it very much and look forward to more in this series.

Goodreads summary of The Outliers below.

Wylie hasn’t heard from Cassie in over a week, not since their last fight. But that doesn’t matter. Cassie’s in trouble, so Wylie decides to do what she has done so many times before: save her best friend from herself.

This time it’s different, though. Instead of telling Wylie where she is, Cassie sends cryptic clues. And instead of having Wylie come by herself, Jasper shows up saying Cassie sent him to help. Trusting the guy who sent Cassie off the rails doesn’t feel right, but Wylie has no choice: she has to ignore her gut instinct and go with him.

But figuring out where Cassie is goes from difficult to dangerous, fast. As Wylie and Jasper head farther and farther north into the dense woods of Maine, Wylie struggles to control her growing sense that something is really wrong. What isn’t Cassie telling them? And could finding her be only the beginning?

mebeforeyou

Review: Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

4 0ut of 5 stars

I saw the trailer for this movie and said to myself “I HAVE to read the book first!” It also helped that a couple actors from my favorite fandoms are in it too.  I thoroughly  enjoyed this book. It is about a young woman who needs money so she answers an ad for a job as a caretaker for a quadriplegic man.  She, Louisa, has no experience but gets the job.  The man, Will, was an active, adventurous man before the accident and has decided that in six months he wants to go to a special facility that will end his life.  When Louisa discovers his plan, she makes it her mission to show him that life is worth living for. One of the reasons I like to read is that I learn something I didn’t already know and in the case of this book, I learned that even though a person may be paralyzed, they still feel extreme pain in their muscles, suffer from bed sores and depression, and are at high risk for infections that could kill them. This book makes you think about a person’s right to quality of life and their right to a dignified death.  Below is the link to the trailer. Th movie comes out June 3.

Me Before You Movie Trailer

 splintered

Are you a fan of Alice in Wonderland? If so, then like me you are looking forward to the new movie with Johnny Depp coming out May 27, “Alice, Through the Looking Glass.” There is a great book series (the Splintered series) by A.G. Howard that explores what happened to Alice’s ancestors.  Her granddaughter, Alyssa, through a series of events, ends up in Wonderland and must past some tests to fix the mistakes that Alice left when she returned from Wonderland.  This is a great re-envisioning of a classic story.

gooddog.jpg

The other book I read this week was A Good Dog: The Story of Orson who Changed My Life by Jon Katz (not kidding).  Sometimes I need a break from fiction and grab a non-fiction book, usually about dogs.  I give this book 3.5 stars out of 5.  The book was about Orson, a rescue border collie and his owner who tried to “fix” him with sheep herding lessons.  There were some funny moments but too much information on sheep herding techniques.  Overall, this was a great book about how challenging it can be to rescue a dog with a bad past but not to give up on each other.

 

Last but not least, Derek Anderson!!!

IMG_6785One of my favorite children’s book authors is Derek Anderson. He came to my town to do a book talk and so of course I went! He started out as an illustrator but now writes and illustrates his books.  His latest book, Ten Hungry Pigs, is cute and hilarious.  I love how Mr. Anderson hides pictures in his drawings of himself and the campanile of our mutual Alma mater Iowa State University. So if you have little ones or grand kids I HIGHLY recommend his books.

IMG_6784

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Book to Movie blog and more!

  1. La La in the Library says:

    I missed when Me Before You was a Kindle special. I saw it on someone’s blog, but by the time I saw it the special was already over. I want to read it, but I don’t feel any urgency because I doubt I will watch the movie until it is on television. I took care of a girl who had suffered a severe head unjury as a part time job while I was working on my second degree. As well as being quadriplegic, she was non-verbal, and couldn’t tell us what she wanted. I was constantly thinking that without the ability to communucate, as well as being completely paralyzed, if I would even want to live anymore.

    Yay for the Splintered books! I don’t care for anything Phantom Of the Opera, so I am probably not going to read the RoseBlood books, but I am excited for her Adult gothic paranormal, The Architect Of Song. I will surely be reading that one. Do you plan on reading the RoseBlood books?

    Like

  2. La La in the Library says:

    Oh, and I do a feature of all the kids books I see mentioned on my friend’s blogs called First Friday Friends on my Children’s blog every month. I will make sure to add Ten Hungry Pigs to the next one. I link back to everyone’s blog. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

