Two Book Reviews and Book Con Chicago!!!

TELL ME TUESDAY!!!-

This is a floating feature put on weekly by LaLaToadstone where you tell us what you read last, what you are reading now, what you will be reading in the future from your tbr pile, and why. Click the link to see her blog!  http://lalatoadstone.blogspot.com/

 

Just started reading this to get ready for the movie coming out in June.

IMG_6757

Book Review: Highly Illogical Behavior 4 out of 5 stars

Onhighly my way home from Chicago Book Con I started and finished the book Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley.  This YA book about mental illness, specifically anxiety, was very eye opening to me.  A lot of times we tend to believe that anyone, especially teens, are just being dramatic and aren’t really suffering from anything whether it be depression, anxiety, etc.  The two main characters in this book are Lisa and Solomon.  Solomon suffers from severe anxiety and hasn’t left his house in 3 years. Lisa believes she can fix him and use her success to get a full ride scholarship to a college where she can study to be a psychiatrist.  Solomon agrees to meet Lisa and they become fast friends which causes Lisa to rethink her
plan of using Solomon as a means to get into college for free. This book is beautifully written. I met the author in Chicago and he is a funny and kind person.  His previous book Where Things Come Back  won the Prinz award so I may have to add another book to my TBR list!

Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury 5 out of 5 stars

mistIf you read last week’s blog then you remember I was trying to get through the ginormous book A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas.  It was 64o pages! I haven’t read a book that long since Harry Potter.  It was worth it though!  This is the second book in a series.  I was told while waiting in a very long line at Book Con to get my book signed that the series is to be a trilogy but I have no confirmation on that. This book was action packed from start to finish.  The author has created such a detailed and wonderful world full of characters that you either love or hate and then she makes you change your mind! The story continues where the first book, A Court of Thorns and Roses, left off.  The war between the Fairies and the humans is still taking place but now the main character, Feyre, is being forced to watch from the sidelines and not help her family.  She escapes from her “prison” and that is when everything changes.  I know I am being vague but I don’t want to ruin anything for those of you who haven’t read the first book yet.  I enjoy fantasy but it is not my favorite however, this series is so well written that you forget it is fantasy.  My only disclaimer is that I feel that this book is marketed as YA but should only be for older YA and up.  There are some steamy love scenes that made me even blush!

Chicago Book Con

I attended my first ever Book Con this last weekend.  It was a lot of fun and I met a lot of my favorite authors but it was crazy! There were tons of people and long lines but I got lots of ARCs to read and review.  I met lots of fun people while waiting in line and got some great advice on blogging.  It is always hard going to something for the first time because you don’t know what to expect.  There were definitely things I would have done different but overall it was an enjoyable experience.  Be sure to check out my pics below.

IMG_6749

 

 

 

 

 

All the books and ARCs I got!

IMG_6739 1

 

 

 

 

 

John Corey Whaley

IMG_6701 1IMG_6700

Sarah J. Maas signing my book.  She was soooo pretty and nice!

IMG_6711 1

Lauren Oliver.

IMG_6693 1

David Arnold (one of my faves) and Jennifer Niven and Sabaa Tahir.

 

4 thoughts on “Two Book Reviews and Book Con Chicago!!!

  1. Elizabeth @ Book Yabber says:

    So glad you had a great time at BEA! I have been going to BEA since 2014, but I had to skip this year because it was in Chicago and that’s too far. The author list for this year was amazing and it looks like you met one of my favorites! I love Lauren Oliver. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on REPLICA!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. La La in the Library says:

    So many teens throw around mental illness terms that my heart aches when I see one who is genuinely suffering. I might check that book out. Yay for BookCon! I still don’t get the how it is different from the other days of BEA. I was told it was because the books were for sale, but if you can get ARCs they certainly aren’t for sale. Maybe you can explain it to me better. Ha ha. Everyone who meets Sarah J. Maas gushes about her. I have the TOG prequel compilation and the first three books, but I have just not been in the mood to start an epically long series. Maybe after I fully retire. 😀

    Like

    • jolenewilsonblog says:

      I am not for sure about the difference between BEA and BookCon but I think during BEA there are a lot more ARCs available and more often. At BookCon there were some ArCs available but I think the focus was on meeting authors. I did not enjoy book 3 of ToG series so I stopped reading it. Fingers crossed I like the rest of the Court series since I already own two of them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

