Book Review

Back in March I went to SE-YA (South Eastern Young Adult) Book fest in Murfreesboro, TN.  While I was there I met many authors for the first and second time.  After, going to a panel of four authors talking about their books, I was intrigued by one author in particular.  Her name was M.G. Buehrlen and she had talked about her book, The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare.  I talked to her after the panel for aalex57bout 10 minutes but not about her book.  Instead we talked about growing up in small towns, the problem of getting teens to read these days, and our love for Laura Ingalls Wilder.   I bought her book and she signed it for me.  I read it straight through on the the 12 hour drive home.  It was amazing! I am usually not a fan of time travel books because I get confused easily. But this one was easy to follow and a unique way to tell a story about time travel. The main character, Alex, has had 57 different lives and can travel back to any of them at any time. This book was fast paced and kept me engaged. Thank goodness I don’t get sick reading in the car.

alexThe sequel, The Untimely Deaths of Alex Wayfare, came out Tuesday.  It did not disappoint.  This book too started off action packed and didn’t stop until the end.  The author does such a great job sucking you into the story.  I think my favorite thing about these books is Alex looking for her soulmate, Blue, in each life because he is a time traveler also.  It is so romantic!  I highly recommend these two books.  They are fun and fast reads.  The author’s writing is excellent and I can tell you from experience an excellent person in real life.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review

    • jolenewilsonblog says:

      Haha! I have family in that area so it was a win win. I went to go see David Arnold and Adam Silvera for a second time and there were some other great authors too. Julie Murphy,Lauren Oliver, and Maggie Stiefvater. It was a lot of fun. I headed to Chicago in a couple weekends.

      Like

Leave a Reply

