Book Review: The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

Eserpentven though it started out a bit slow, this book was a great debut novel from Zentner.  There were many lessons in stereotypes and judging people that I think the readers can learn from.  The main character, Dill, has a last name that is infamous where he lives, and he can’t shake it.  I endured this type of problem when I was growing up.  I had to work hard at my reputation to shake the negative connotation with my last name.  There were some wonderful and funny moments between the main characters, Dill, Lydia, and Travis.  Unfortunately, there were also some devastating and sad moments too.  Dill and Travis don’t have the best home life and have dads that are jerks.  I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 because like I mentioned it is a bit slow at the beginning but also that the author didn’t explain somehow in his story that not all Christians act like the ones he portrays in his book.  The best part about this book, however, is the theme that no matter your income, looks, popularity, or home life, you CAN change your life for the better.  There is hope if you have the courage.  I recommend this book for teens (and adults) who feel trapped and depressed of what their future may hold.  The Serpent King will show you that it is okay to go after your dreams.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

  1. La La in the Library says:

    I am so glad I pushed through the beginning of this book. I identified with this story because after my mother divorced my father she started going to a Baptist Evangelical church, so from age 6 until age 14, when my strepfather finally put his for down about her being so controlling, I lived pretty much that life (without the snakes). It really screwed me up for a while, I must say. It seemed to me that his writhing matured from the beginning of the book. Like he had that first 20% written for awhile and when back to finish it. I wish an editor had made him go back and rework it because there are a lot of readers who will quit reading before they get to the fantastic writing. Thanks for the review. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

